Prickly Business by Piper Vaughn and Kenzie Cade

PricklyBusinessLGTitle: Prickly Business
Series: Portland Pack Chronicles, #1
Author: Piper Vaughn & Kenzie Cade
Genre: Paranormal/ Mystery/ Contemporary
Length: Novel (256 pages)
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (July 27th 2015)
Heat Level: Explicit
Blurb: Some people might call Avery Babineaux a prick. He’s a hedgehog shifter from an old-money Louisiana family with a penchant for expensive shoes and a reputation for being a judgmental snob. His attitude is why he and his fated mate are estranged. Not that Avery cares. He doesn’t want to be mated to some blue-collar werewolf anyway. Or so he keeps telling himself.

No werewolf likes to be looked down upon, least of all Dylan Green. He doesn’t’t need a mate, especially not some snotty hedgehog who sneers at his custom motorcycle shop and calls him a grease monkey. But when Avery gets into trouble with a shady loan shark, Dylan can’t stand by and let him be hurt—whether he wants the brat or not.

Yet once Dylan steps into Avery’s world, he realizes there’s more to Avery than his prickly exterior, and that unexpected vulnerability calls to Dylan’s protective instincts. The sassy little hedgehog needs a keeper, and despite their horrible first impressions, Dylan starts to believe he might be the wolf for the job.

ISBN: 9781634764537

Product Link: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=6530

Leigh’s Review: ♥♥♥♥4 Hearts
I must say this book grabbed my attention from the start. Hedgehog shifter mated to a wolf shifter. Totally something I would need to read. And I was not disappointed.

There is the ongoing drama of Dylan and Avery with the lack of communication leading to a lack of mating. I mean really these two… they seriously needed to talk to each other long before they finally were forced together. But like most men they were both stubborn.

It was funny reading as Dylan and Avery undug themselves from the holes they made. Avery is, well, very prickly and has serious narcissistic tendencies. But below all that he is a good guy who makes stupid mistakes.

Dylan is all growley and Alpha like. He owns his own motorcycle shop and works hard. He was hurt by Avery’s rejection. And still he cannot leave Avery in a jam and helps his mate out. That leads to the two of them finally talking and actually dating.

I honestly liked the slower build up Dylan and Avery took. Instead of the instant, wham, bam, mated deal, they took their time. They talked and got to know each other. Along the way were some very funny scenes between them. But they also found something that worked in the middle for them both. Still they did have a lack of communication thing going on.

This book was a decent combination of romance and mystery. During all of the romance, Avery is getting involved in the search of missing people. He starts looking for one girl and finds a whole lot more than he planned. And perhaps a career path for him.

Granted I think I would have liked a little more romance and a little less mystery, I did enjoy the book. The writing was on point and fast paced. I liked the main characters as well as many of the secondary characters.

I think this was a good start to a new series and I hope to read more about Dylan, Avery, and their friends.

Aerin’s Review: ♥♥♥♥3.4 Hearts
When I requested this book for the blog tour, I did it without reading the blurb or any clue really when it came to the content of this story. So why request it at all? Because I simply love Piper Vaughn’s writing! Shifter books are not usually my cuppa, because they tend to be fluffy and without substance, but fortunately this book is neither of those.

Avery is indeed a prickly bastard, or at least he sure seems like one; I can’t argue with the prickly part because he is a hedgehog shifter, but I thought he was an endearing character and I liked him a lot. Dylan Green is a wolf shifter and Avery’s mate, and he’s the moody, possessive, growley MC I crave when it comes to these types of books. He was my absolute favorite; but as much as I loved Dylan, there were parts of this book that made it just good instead of great.

I expected explosive sex and chemistry between Avery and Dylan, but it was past half way mark by the time we got a sample of that. Don’t get me wrong, the sex was indeed hot, but the whole plot overshadowed the mating between Dylan and Avery, and it ended up being more of an ongoing investigation rather than a love story at the front and center. It’s not that it wasn’t quality writing. I just found the balance between those two parts to be leaning heavily towards the mystery and not enough towards the romance.

However, the developing relationship between Avery and Dylan was done beautifully; they didn’t just meet and jumped in bed together just because they were mates. They went from enemies to lovers, and they got to know each other before deciding to seal the mating bond and become mates for life.

One thing that drives me completely crazy is a MC who thinks he can outsmart everyone else, only to end up getting himself in a world of trouble and putting other lives at risk while playing super-shifter. This is what dropped the rating for this book to 3 stars; Avery was a bad liar, he was shady and secretive with Dylan, and ended up getting himself in trouble. All those things that drive me nuts??? Avery did EVERY SINGLE ONE OF THEM!!! So as endearing as Avery was at the beginning, after the half way mark I wanted to strangle him or give him a good spanking, quite possibly both at the same time.

I loved the secondary characters and I really liked the way this imaginary world of shifters was built. I liked the interactions between pack members and I loved Dylan’s friends, especially Sawyer and Lucas. I know book #2 will be focused on Avery and Dylan again, but I sincerely hope Lucas and the rest of the guys get their own stories in future books.

Overall this was a pretty good start to what I’m hoping will become a great series, and I’m looking forward to more focus on the relationship between Avery and Dylan in the next book.

* Both reviewers received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review through https://mmgoodbookreviews.wordpress.com *

Leave a Reply

