Best Worst Ever by L.D. Blakeley (Mended Daily Dose) Interview, Review & Giveaway!

L.D. Blackeley - Best Worst Ever Banner

Hiya again peeps 🙂 I now bring you the Daily Dose of the day Best Worst Ever by L.D. Blakeley! I managed to snag an interview with this brand new author and reviewed this cute little story, now remember guys you can win your own copy of Best Worst Ever just by leaving a comment and there’s still a little bit of time left of the Mended collection giveaway so click that Rafflecopter link ❤ ~Pixie~

And our comment winner of Kim Fielding’s The Border issssss…. Lisa G. Congratulations Lisa G 🙂 

Daily Dose MendedLG

Mended

Various Authors

Life comes with a bit of hurt, but luckily for these men, it also comes with the right amount of comfort to mend their breaks, both of the body and the heart. From facing deranged exes to economic trials, the men in these tales have faced trial by fire–or in some cases water–for the right to love and live. Step into their shoes as they rebuild their family after a gutting betrayal or traverse the stars with an unexpected partner. The Mended Daily Dose package delivers stories about all kinds of second chances built on love. 

Felicitas Ivey Zahra Owens Emily Moreton Cardeno C. S.A. Garcia Elizabeth Noble M. Lee Ellis Carrington Kim Fielding Ari McKay E.T. Malinowski Bru Baker K.C. Wells Gwynn Marssen Lee Comyn Ashavan Doyon Eli Easton Charley Descoteaux Therese Woodson MA Ford Kenzie Cade Coral Moore L.D. Blakeley Chloe Stowe Ronnie Matthews Jayden Brooks Diane Lennox C. Callenreese Mars Novak Emma Wilson

L.D. Blakeley avatarbluedark

Interview with L.D. Blakeley

Pixie: Hello to L.D. Blakeley who is joining us today for the Dreamspinner Press Daily Dose with her release Best Worst Ever, hey L.D.

L.D: Hiya! And, please, call me Lisa 🙂

Pixie: So Lisa Best Worst Ever is your first release, how does that feel?

L.D: It feels pretty amazing. I’ve been writing for years and this year I finally decided that it was time to try submitting a piece of fiction. Lo and behold, the good folks at Dreamspinner liked my work enough to include it in this summer’s Daily Dose.

Pixie: What’s it like taking part in a Dreamspinner Daily Dose?

L.D: It’s been amazing. Professionally speaking, I’ve been working on the editing side of things for such a long time. So it’s been really eye-opening and incredibly helpful/enlightening to be on the writing side, and to have a team of editors help me fine-tune my story. They do not play over at Dreamspinner, and it’s comforting to know that they’ve got a team who pays such close attention to detail.

Pixie: Now I’ve read the Best Worst Ever *sticks tongue out at readers* and I have got to say it was great, but can you tell the readers a little about it?

L.D: Aww – that’s sweet. Thank you, kindly! I’d have to say Best Worst Ever is about heartache & sorrow, drowning said sorrows in a few too many adult bevvies, childish games, ensuing shenanigans, and the resulting fallout. Oh, and hot boys. We can’t forget the hot boys. Sorry… men!

Pixie: Can the readers have a little taster pleaaassseeeeee, just a few lines will do *flutters eyelashes*

L.D: Something sweet? Or something salacious? Let’s go for the latter, shall we?

Just as he thought he’d reached the precipice, that exquisite mouth pulled slowly off his cock with a deliciously filthy-sounding pop. With a whimper, he forced his lover back where he wanted him most. But instead of sucking him in, those full, sumptuous lips teased the head of his dick mercilessly. Tiny, darting licks around the rim had him writhing and babbling, begging for more. The teasing was torturous. But before he could form the words to beg, he felt an index finger breach his inner ring as his cock was swallowed to the root. Feeling his world shrink to exclude everything but his cock and the sensations being created around it by that talented mouth, Carey shivered and moaned as he writhed uncontrollably. “OhmygodSky!” he rasped in one sucking breath.

Pixie: Mended is like a series of hurt/comfort stories, how’d it feel writing your first release with a bit of angst?  

L.D: I’m a real sucker for angsty stories. I tend to gravitate toward stories with angst-ridden or broken characters more than anything else, for some reason; my only caveat, though, is that they absolutely must have a HEA. So, when Dreamspinner put out the submission call, I was all over it!

Pixie: How would you describe Carey and Sky?

L.D: Carey and Sky are both lovely boys. They’re professional, driven, the best of friends, losers-at-love, somewhat goofy, and just the slightest bit obtuse. 😉

Pixie: OMG their nicknames are just cute: Prince Charming, Mr Darcy, oh and Care Bear!

L.D: Everyone in my world has a tendency to hand out nicknames at the drop of a hat, so I knew these guys would too. And, really, who doesn’t swoon for a Mr. Darcy?

Pixie: Have you got any ideas yet for your next release?

L.D: Yes, I do! I have two full-length novels that are duking it out in my head to see who comes out first. I have another short story almost ready for submission. And I think that Andrew (from Best Worst Ever) has a tale to tell, as well.

Pixie: As a new author not many people will know you yet so tell the readers where they can find you.

L.D: I’m all over Twitter ( ). I may spend too much time there, to be honest. I have to put an embargo on from time to time in order to get anything done. I can also be found at www.ldblakeley.com (the site is spankin’-new and a bit of a W.I.P right now) as well as www.weezieworld.ca (my alter-ego’s catch-all blog).

Pixie: Is there anything you’d like to tell your future fans about yourself?

L.D: Future fans? Wow – that seems like a pretty fantastical concept. I’m not sure I can quite wrap my head around it, to be honest. But about me… hrm. Let’s see: I make jewellery  (and I’m Canadian, so that’s not a typo ;-)), I enjoy photography, and I’m a bit of a closet karaoke queen. Well, not so much closeted as loudly out in the open. And not so much a queen, as a lady-in-waiting (my best friends are seriously talented singers).  Also, I rarely, if ever take myself very seriously.

Pixie: Lisa I’d like to thank you for answering our questions today and I hope to see more of your titles soon 😉

L.D: Thank YOU for taking the time to ask them! And I hope you get to see more of my titles, as well 🙂

L.D. Blakeley

About L.D.

A pragmatist with a romantic soul & a dirty mind…

I’ve been a writer for as long as I can remember. From the time I was able to pick up a pencil in my chubby little fingers, I would while away hours making up fantastical stories… for the sole purpose of amusing myself. I didn’t know what I wanted to be when I grew up so, after high school, I started a degree in English (an endeavour I discarded after two years) and then went on to Journalism school (I graduated this time!)  I even made a living with my writing for a lot of years. I’ve been a newspaper reporter, an entertainment/music writer, a travel writer/editor, a PR writer, a website writer/editor, and a marketing shill. And I loved what I did for a long time.

But the one thing that really tickles my fancy is the writing I’ve always kept to myself. My guilty pleasure has always been hot, steamy fiction featuring intriguing, sexy men and a healthy dose of romance.

Of course, whether these pretty boys end up between the sheets with other gorgeous lads or up against a wall with a spicy and spirited heroine, all depends on which direction my imagination takes me on any given day.

But the one thing all of my stories have in common is a Happily Ever After.  Sometimes Happily Ever Afters don’t come easily (or quickly) – but, in my world, everybody gets to have one!

  

http://instagram.com/ldblakeley 

http://ldblakeley.tumblr.com/

https://www.facebook.com/LDBlakeley 

L.D. Blakeley - Best Worst Ever 325x487Title: Best Worst Ever

Series: Daily Dose Mended 29

Author: L.D. Blakeley

Genre: Contemporary

Length: Short (67pgs)

ISBN: 978-1-63216-101-7

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (1st June 2014)

Heat Level: Moderate

Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥ 4 Hearts

Reviewer: Pixie

Blurb: Carey English spends his days planning extravagant parties and lavish weddings and generally making people’s lives brighter. He spends his nights wishing for a man he doesn’t have to share and who won’t try to drag him back into the closet. It doesn’t help that the man he wants most doesn’t need a closet to begin with — his straight best friend, Sky. Skyler Wood has been dumped — again — just days before the holiday season, leaving him with an ex-fiancée, a non-refundable New Year’s Eve getaway rental, and nothing to ring in the New Year but a broken heart. For Carey, rushing off to offer Sky a shoulder will either be the best decision he’s ever made—or it will lead to the worst heartbreak he’s ever experienced.

Purchase Link: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=5151

Or as part of the 2014 Daily Dose Full Set Mended: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=5113 

Review: Carey hasn’t had much luck with his relationships, he either seems to pick the ones who don’t want him for long or are deeply in the closet and the one man Carey does want is straight and his best friend. Sky has been dumped… again, left heartbroken with a non-refundable New Year’s Getaway, Carey offers to be there for him and events spiral. Will Carey finally get the happiness he has always dreamed of or will he suffer from the worst heartbreak ever?

This is a great friend to lover’s story that has just a touch of angst. Carey has loved his best friend for years but he has never let it stop him from trying to find some happiness though, when Sky calls to say his wedding is off and his fiancée has dumped him Carey offers straight away to be the shoulder for him to cry on. Their boys only New Year of drinking, movies and drunken games takes a turn when confessions are made and Carey thinks he finally has the best of everything until a phone call has him running for the hills.

I really enjoyed this story and loved how the two best friends teased each other, completely comfortable with each other and their friendship. Carey might have loved Sky but he hasn’t pined for him and has always been happy for his straight friend, Sky is always being dumped by his girlfriends and he can never really understand why… until a drunken game has him taking a chance. These two are great together; they both take a chance but Carey runs before his heart can be completely shattered, Sky refuses to let Carey just run and make’s his plans for Carey’s dream date. Poor Carey is terrified of losing Sky after one night together and shuts himself off; it is easy to understand that fear as Sky has never given any indication that he has ever been attracted to men. Sky understands finally that he has held a part of himself back in the past but he has no intention of backing away from the man who means so much to him.

I recommend this to those who love friends to lovers stories, discovering new things about oneself, getting the dream you have always longed for and a very sweet ending.

Giveaway! 

L.D. Blakeley - Best Worst Ever 325x487

One lucky comment winner will receive L.D. Blakeley’s Best Worst Ever

(Ends midnight 30th June 2014)

Daily Dose Mended 350x525

One lucky clicker will win the entire Mended collection

(Just click the link below)

Dreamspinner Mended Collection Rafflecopter giveaway!

(Ends Midnight 30th June 2014)

All winners for the Giveaways will be notified by MM Good Book Reviews by email and will receive their prize in their Dreamspinner Press Account.

(I will contact you for the email you use for your Dreamspinner account)

Don’t have a Dreamspinner Press account? sign up here:

https://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/create_account.php

Worried you can’t take part because you have a Kindle? Just download a format and email to your Kindle: Want to learn more? http://www.amazon.com/gp/sendtokindle/email

9 thoughts on “Best Worst Ever by L.D. Blakeley (Mended Daily Dose) Interview, Review & Giveaway!”

Comments are closed.