Going Up the Inside by Catherine L. Byrne

30282672Title: Going Up the Inside

Series: Riding Rivals, #2

Author: Catherine L Byrne

Genre: Contemporary/Sports

Length: 119 pages

Publisher: Extasy Books (14 May 2016)

Heat Level: Moderate

Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥4.5 Hearts

Blurb: Hostile new rivals and relationship power struggles cause problems between competitive bikers Javier and Glen.

When Javier and Glen’s racing teams are thrown into turmoil and their living arrangements become challenging, they struggle to handle their new situations.

Javier throws himself into his work, Glen into his social life, but will their actions push them apart or bring them back together?

ISBN:  978-1-4874-0742-1

Product Link: http://www.extasybooks.com/catherine-l-byrne/going-up-the-inside/

Reviewer: Prime

Review:  Going up the Inside is the second book in Catherine L Byrne’s series Racing Rivals. Much like the first book the writing style was brilliant and drew me in immediately, I also happened to like the world that Byrne had created in the first book that I had looked forward and binge read this one.

In saying that, you need to have read book one before reading this one, but that is not a bad thing. However, I have to say that I really loved Going up the Inside so much more than the first book. We got so much more feeling, angst and drama that were just a joy to read and engaged my emotions so much more.

Javier and Glen are ready to start another year of the racing season, but things are changing, the racing league they are part of is merging with another which is adding pressure on everyone. It doesn’t help that the newbies are all rough and ready as well as homophobic. In their personal lives they are trying to get their lives together and for me this was the highlight of the story.

Every relationship has issues and Javier and Glen’s is about to get tested. In the stress of coping with fans mobbing Javier’s apartment, they need to move to a quiet and more secure area. That is the start of their troubles.

It was easy to relate to both guys – Javier throwing himself into work so that he could make his arsehole father proud and Glen, feeling left out of Javier’s life despite living together, finds himself on a different path. I loved this storyline and I am not ashamed to admit that I may have shed a few tears on Glen’s behalf. He may still be the hot-headed Englishman but his character has become so much more in this story.

Fans of the first book will not be disappointed with this one. But once more this is a story about rivals who have fallen in love. But there is so much more sweetness and actual relationship woes going on. I really do want to hear more from these guys because I just love them all the more since reading Going up the Inside!

* I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review through https://mmgoodbookreviews.wordpress.com *

Run by Annie Kaye

runTitle: Run

Series: N/A

Author: Annie Kaye

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Length: 260 pages

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (February 26th, 2016)

Heat Level: Moderate

Heart Rating: ♥♥♥ 3 Hearts

Blurb: Amid the tumult of the Iowa Democratic primary, young but brilliant speechwriter Tom McAlindon meets Nathan Harris, the deputy campaign manager for an opposing candidate. Their acquaintance is strictly professional until an impetuous kiss on a cold winter night leads them into a secret romance. As their feelings deepen, both men struggle with the complications of keeping the relationship separate from their jobs and the inner workings of the campaigns.

But in the nation’s most high-stakes political game, no secret is truly safe. When an observer realizes their connection, Tom and Nate discover that striving for the best of both worlds has a much higher cost than they bargained for… and that love can’t survive while Nate is hiding the truth from Tom.

ISBN: 978-1-63476-925-9

Product Link: https://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/books/run-by-annie-kaye-1373-b

Reviewer: Lisa

Review: When I came across this, I was definitely thinking it was going to be one of those forbidden loves. However it came off a bit different then what I had expected. This author was a new author for me so I must admit that I was not really sure what to expect.

Tom is working for the Democratic primary as a speech writer and is damn good. Other candidates want him or at least the note that Nathan had given him suggested it. He is intrigued by the man but it starts out just professional, that is until their first kiss. Their problem was trying to separate between work and their personal life.

Nate is hiding something from Tom that might just destroy their new relationship. With political stakes are high, tempers and secrets run loose. Someone has blown their relationship into the open. They had met once while in Iowa and then at the airport, bringing their feelings to the head. Their feelings start out fast and hard. They find that they are both falling fast. However secrets never stay secret for long.

Now for me there was no heat, no passion in the story what so ever. In fact it was hard to keep my attention on the story when I started reading it. The pace was just too slow for a good heated romance and it doesn’t really come off to well. In fact it felt like the story was not being told from the characters nor was it being shown to the readers.

It also felt wrong starting with them being right into the action of the campaign. Which is probably why I lost my attention right from the start of the story. It felt more political than romantic, which was a drag to me.

I wanted heat, passion, fire and romance, which this story just didn’t really give me.

I was a bit disappointed in this story. However, I saw a lot of potential to be a great story. For now I am afraid that this story was not for me.

* I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review through https://mmgoodbookreviews.wordpress.com *

Dead Camp by Sean Kerr Blog Tour, Interview, Excerpt, Review & Giveaway!

Sean Kerr - Dead Camp 960x350

Hi peeps, we have Sean Kerr popping in today with his release Dead Camp, we have a great interview with Sean, a great excerpt, a fantastic giveaway and Shorty’s reviews of both Dead Camp books, so enjoy the post and click that giveaway link❤ ~Pixie~

Sean Kerr - Dead Camp Cover

Dead Camp

(Dead Camp 01)
by

Sean Kerr

Eli is an ancient vampire with an ego the size of a planet and a sex drive to match, but his tumultuous past left him broken, so he hides from humanity and cowers from love, left to endure the crushing guilt that haunts his every waking moment. Even his best friend Malachi, a ghost who is hopelessly in love with Eli, remains unaware of all that transpired in London. Malachi can never know the truth.

When the Angel Daniyyel pays an unwelcome visit, Eli must face his secrets, secrets that he has tried so long to hide. To make matters worse, a chance encounter with the most beautiful man he has ever seen shatters his beloved isolation, pushing him into the world of the living once more. Something about this strange man seems so familiar, but Eli can’t even remember who he was before he became a vampire, never mind explain the unwanted emotions the enigmatic stranger ignites in his dead heart. So Eli has a choice—return to the world that ruined him, or continue his self-imposed exile with no hope of salvation.

Continue reading Dead Camp by Sean Kerr Blog Tour, Interview, Excerpt, Review & Giveaway!

Test Drive by Riley Hart Release Blitz, Excerpt & Giveaway!

Riley Hart - Test Drive RDB Banner s

Hi guys, we have Riley Hart stopping by with her brand new release Test Drive, we have a great excerpt and a brilliant giveaway so enjoy the post and click that giveaway link❤ ~Pixie~

Riley Hart - Test Drive Cover s

Test Drive

(Crossroads 03)
by

Riley Hart

A double shot of devastating news turns Justin Evanson’s life upside down. When he learns his father has cancer, and he has siblings he never knew existed, he leaves everything behind and moves to Virginia to support his dad as he tries to make amends with his family—a family Justin’s not sure he has a place in. Things go from bad to worse when he discovers his recent hookup is his newfound sister’s brother-in-law.

Drew Sinclair never expected to see Justin after their night at the club or to discover their family connection. If anyone found out, it would give Drew’s brother another reason to hate him. But there’s something about Justin that draws him in, and it’s not only because they burn up the sheets together.

One meeting leads to another, and before Justin realizes it, Drew has become the only thing in his world he feels is his. And for the first time in his life, Drew knows what it means to be needed. Being there for Justin and supporting him when things spiral out of control feels right. But with so much happening so quickly, it’s hard to trust their feelings. Is this thing between them real? Or just a test drive before life forces them down two separate roads?

Continue reading Test Drive by Riley Hart Release Blitz, Excerpt & Giveaway!

Fall Into My Kiss by T.A. Chase

29957256Title: Fall Into My Kiss

Series: Merging Violently, #1

Author: T.A. Chase

Genre: Contemporary/Cowboys and Western/Erotic Romance

Length: 145 pages

Publisher: Pride Publishing (May 31, 2016)

Heat Level: Moderate

Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥5 Hearts

Blurb: Will Hunter’s life ever be more than an endless tour of small gigs?

Hunter Lee is lead guitarist of the alternative rock band, Merging Violently. He and his four friends travel up and down the East Coast, playing small gigs. It’s not what he dreamed of when he founded the band, but it’s a way to make a living. Meeting Edward Monterrose might be the best shot he has at hitting the big time.

Edward Monterrose doesn’t have time for a relationship. He’s too busy with his horses and students. Yet he always makes time for a benefit to raise money for charities he supports. While recovering from an injury, he overhears Hunter playing in the park and asks him to play at the benefit.

The two men come from different worlds yet discover they have more in common than they thought. Yet will their relationship last when they’re apart for months on end?

ISBN: 978-1-78651-424-0

Product Link: https://www.pride-publishing.com/book/fall-into-my-kiss

Reviewer: Lisa

Review: This book is linked to the Home series so you might want to start with that one if you want to get a hold of some of the characters in this amazing story.

I have not really been in to stories that involve musicians, but this one plus the added country part made it damn good.

Hunter is the lead guitarist to Merging Violently but he is getting tired of playing the small gigs. He wants more. So when he meets the one man who might be able to help, he jumps at the chance. Although, it doesn’t hurt that Hunter wants Edward just as much as he wants success. So spending time at the ranch was perfect for him. He is enjoying watching Edward and the horses that he is training.

Edward was injured when one of his horses bulked at jumping over a small water pond set up for training. He was also training students as well as the horses and he figured he just didn’t have time for a relationship. That all changed when he met Hunter. Now he wants more from the man.

This is one of those sweet love stories of two men from different worlds falling in love. I must admit that I wished it didn’t go so well though, I was hoping for a bit more bite to it. The characters were fully developed and there was a lot of depth to this story that intrigued me quite a bit. The words just seemed to flow off the pages and right into your heart.

I had a lot of fun reading this and would definitely recommend it.

* I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review through https://mmgoodbookreviews.wordpress.com *

 

Splintered by SJD Peterson, 2nd edition

o-splinteredTitle: Splintered, 2nd edition

Series:  Hunting Evil, # 1

Author: SJD Peterson

Genre: Suspense

Length: 220 pages

Publisher: DSP Publications (May 31, 2016)

Heat Level: Moderate

Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥5 Hearts

Blurb: A string of murders targeting effeminate gay men has the GLBTQ community of Chicago on alert, but budget cuts have left many precincts understaffed and overworked, and homophobia is alive and well within the law enforcement community so little has been done to solve the mystery.

When the FBI calls in Special Agent Todd Hutchinson and his team, the locals are glad to hand the case off. But Hutch finds a bigger mystery than anyone originally realized—seventeen linked murders committed in several different jurisdictions. Hutch’s clues lead him to Noah Walker.

Working on his PhD in forensic psychology, Noah has been obsessed with serial murders since he was a child. Noah finds himself hunted, striking him off Hutch’s suspect list, but not off his radar.

To catch the killer before anyone else falls victim, they’ll have to work together, and quickly, to bring him to justice.

1st Edition published by Dreamspinner Press, 2014.

ISBN: 978-1-63476-555-8

Product Link: https://www.dsppublications.com/books/splintered-by-sjd-peterson-255-b

Reviewer: Shorty

Review: This is the first book in the Hunting Evil series.

This is the way a mystery and suspense book should be written. I was enthralled from the very first paragraph and could not stop reading until the very end.

Special Agent Todd Hutchinson and his team are called in to investigate a grisly murder. But what they uncover is so much worse than they thought. The details of the murders were horrific in nature. One of the things that bothered me in the story was the utter lack of caring on the police’ part. They didn’t seem to care that many men had been murdered so heinously. Their homophobia showed through loud and clear in this book.

Noah had me concerned for him though I completely understood his reasoning for contacting killers in prison. I still don’t think I could do that myself. Needless to say Noah was a great asset to Hutch’s investigation. The chemistry between the two was hot once things heated up between them.

I loved how well-written, balanced and informative the investigation into the murders went. I felt as though I was right there with them seeing everything as it occurred. This is the best mystery and suspense book I’ve read in a while. With a lot of heart stopping, edge of you seat scenes that leave you breathless with anticipation.

If I could give this book a ten I would. Looking forward to seeing what else happens in this captivating series.

I absolutely loved it and highly recommend it.

* I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review through https://mmgoodbookreviews.wordpress.com *

Tackling the Tight End by Tara Lain ~ Audiobook

51ZnVPzu8KL._AA300_Title: Tackling the Tight End

Series: Long Pass Chronicles, #3

Author: Tara Lain

Narrator: John-Paul Barrel

Genre: New Adult Romance

Length: 9 hours

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (April 12th, 2016)

Heat Level: Moderate

Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥4 Hearts

Narration: L

Blurb: Everyone wants the best for SCU student and tight end Raven Nez – and they know exactly what that is. Enter the NFL draft, become a big football hero, promote his tribe’s casino, and make a lot of money to help people on the reservation. Just one problem.

Raven’s gay and he really wants to work with gay kids. Plus he figures a gay Native tight end will get flattened in the NFL. Then the casino board hires a talented student filmmaker to create ads for the tribal business and asks Raven to work with him. But the filmmaker is Dennis Hascomb, a guy with so much to hide and a life so ugly it’s beyond Raven’s understanding. Still he’s drawn to Dennis’s pain and incredible ability to survive.

Captivated by Raven’s stories of the two-spirited and by the amazing joy of finally having a friend, Dennis knows he has to break free from everything he’s ever been taught was good – but that’s a struggle that could kill him and Raven too. Is there a chance for “the great red hope” and the “whitest guy on earth”?

A future for the serpent and the raven?

©2016 Tara Lain (P) 2016 Dreamspinner Press

Product Link: http://www.audible.com/pd/Fiction/Tackling-the-Tight-End-Audiobook/B01E48FRLK

Reviewer: Gigi

Review: I really should just read the regular book version of this story. I truly admire Tara Lain’s usual humor, plot fun, and drama…but the narrator killed it for me. The sensual scenes were read like a junior high kid reading a comic relief skit. I couldn’t tell if the characters were getting hot or poking fun.

Narration aside for a moment, the characters were interesting, especially the bad guys. I love the whole 1950’s throwback gig they had going, and the adventure and buildup to the heroic end was fun and nail-biting.

The attraction bringing Raven and Dennis together seems like it would be a hit but the flat and sometimes inappropriate mood of the narrator was like hearing my 12-year-old kid reading sex scenes. What should have been hot was a big ol’ splash of cold water.

Again, I like the crazy over-the-top plot, the action, the tension, but this was not a sexy listen if that was what you are looking for. I love Tara’s writing, but they chose the wrong narrator.

* I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review through https://mmgoodbookreviews.wordpress.com *

For Want of a Christmas Miracle by Olley White

forwantofachristmasmiracle500Title: For Want of a Christmas Miracle

Series: N/A

Author:  Olley White

Genre: Contemporary/Holidays

Length: 58 pages

Publisher: NineStar Press (7 Dec 2015)

Heat Level: Low

Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥5 Hearts

Blurb: When one down-on-his-luck gardener and one garden centre owner meet, neither could predict the attraction they’d feel towards each other. Toby is just about turning round the business he’d inherited from his dad, and it’s all going well—until a risk he took looks like it might not pay off. Rhys’s employment at Toby’s garden centre is temporary, just to cover the Christmas sales, and frankly he’d much rather be outside gardening. And avoiding Christmas.

When an accident means Toby can’t be at work at a crucial time, it’s time for Rhys to step up to the mark. But can the Christmas Scrooge make the difference required for the man he’s starting to love?

ISBN: 978-1-911153-03-0

Product Link: http://ninestarpress.com/product/for-want-of-a-christmas-miracle-olley-white/

Reviewer: Prime

Review: This is a nice and quick holiday read. Yes, I read this in May, but for me I love reading a Christmas themed romance all year round. I love the sweetness and the hope that these types of stories normally bring.

For Want of a Christmas Miracle is no different. It follows Rhys, a landscape gardener who finds himself out of a job close to Christmas,  and Toby, Rhys’s new boss at the garden centre. Rhys brings in the “bah-humbug” element into the story and Toby brings the hope.

It is seriously cute and sweet and these characters just work well together.

* I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review through https://mmgoodbookreviews.wordpress.com *

Lay a Ghost by Jane Davit and Alexa Snow, Boxed Set

jdas_boxset_layingaghostTitle:  Laying a Ghost, Box Set

Series: Laying a Ghost

Author: Jane Davitt & Alexa Snow

Genre: Paranormal Romantic Suspense

Length: 495 pages

Publisher: Loose Id Publishing (2016)

Heat Level: Moderate

Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥5 Hearts

ISBN: 978-1-68252-072-7

Product Link: http://www.loose-id.com/laying-a-ghost-boxed-set.html?___SID=U

Reviewer: Lisa

Review: This book is a combination of three different stories involving Nick and John. It tells of their meeting and how they fell in love. It also talks about the gift of seeing spirits and helping them go on their way.

You will also get to see Josh and find out a bit about him.

I wasn’t sure about it at first, but my attention was caught. It has a serious tone to it but there is some humor to it that makes it a better read for me.

6520256Laying a Ghost ♥♥♥♥♥5 Hearts 

When John McIntyre sees Nick Kelley step off the island ferry, he’s instantly attracted, and fairly certain that he knows what Nick is keeping secret, because he’s been doing it himself for years. When he discovers Nick’s real secret he’s drawn into a world he never knew existed, one haunted by grief and guilt and ghosts. In the shadowed world of the spirits, Nick’s power is all that the ghosts have to help them. But Nick is still mourning the death of his lover in an accident he believes he caused, and John’s determined to keep their relationship secret.

 It’s going to take a lot more than attraction and really good sex to solve their problems but will they be lucky? Or will one week be all they have before they’re left alone again?

John has always hidden what he truly was from his family. They lived in a small town that was not as progressive as they should be. Only his best friends new that he was gay. So things changed when Nick shows up.

Nick came to Scotland after his family passed. His uncle, who he had never met, left his mother the home in Scotland. After his partner’s death, he had to get away. You see he has one big secret, he sees ghosts.

I wasn’t sure what to expect when I started reading this. The title is a bit strange so I was a bit leery of taking it on. However once I started I couldn’t put the story down. It was fascinating and a bit freaky. Poor Nick not only sees them but hears them, so he must help them to go forward. This story was fun to read and I can’t wait to get started on the next book. However I must say that I would love to smack the shit out of his mother.

6520312Giving Up the Ghost ♥♥♥♥♥5 Hearts 

Most of the people in Florida are soaking up the sun. Nick and John are dealing with a plane crash, a gold-digger, a reporter with an eye on more than a good story, and some startling revelations about Nick’s family.

And that’s before the ghosts from the crash get angry with Nick, the one person who can hear them.

They’re struggling with their relationship when the trip begins — sex works, sex works well; it’s the other stuff that’s a problem. Getting away seemed like a good way to work things out. But this is one getaway that might leave John and Nick wishing they’d stayed at home.

Or it might be just what they needed to find out that home is where the heart is.

I do have to say that the titles are just bizarre but the stories are pretty cool. In this one John feels Nick is bored, but the truth is something else is going on. Nick has been having dreams and can’t figure them out. That is until he gets a phone call about a father he hadn’t seen in many years.

They end up in Florida dealing with his father’s crazy ass girlfriend, who is nothing more than a gold digging hussy. Also a reporter who recognizes him and many ghost. Then he finds out that he has a little brother. It would seem his little brother has a gift of his own, but it isn’t seeing ghosts.

This one was just as much fun as the first one, although these two really need to work on their communication. I almost gave up on John in the beginning but he redeemed himself really fast. I had a lot of fun with this and can’t wait to get started on the next story.

6520355Walking the Dead ♥♥♥♥♥5 Hearts 

When your lover can speak to ghosts and his half-brother can read minds, you get used to life being a step away from normal. But when angry ghosts take over the bodies of the living, seeking revenge for their centuries-old murders, even John and Nick have trouble coping.

Teenaged angst, pushy tourists, and the dead walking… If they want the peaceful summer they’d planned, they’re going to have to fight for it.

Side by side.

Nick’s brother Josh is now nineteen and coming for a visit. John’s niece is having difficulties with her mother and invites Josh to a camp fire down by the ocean. Ghost stories are told. There are rumors of two men being killed in the caves. So they decide to see what the cave looks like. But two teenagers inadvertently free their spirits. The men were angry at being killed. They say they were innocent but plan revenge.

Even John and Nick are having trouble trying to help these two men find peace. On the flip side the guys are doing amazing together and their love is stronger than ever. Dealing with mean spirits and two teenagers is just about as fun as the day is young.

I loved this story and can’t wait to see what else this amazing author has out. I think if I had Nick and Josh’s gifts I would go nuts. Although Josh’s does sound a bit more fun.

Overall

This was one amazing book. I wasn’t sure if I would like it because of the ghost but it was told with such a flare that I enjoyed the whole thing. It has a lot of different feelings going on that my attention definitely didn’t waiver a bit from this book. I even gave up dinner to finish it, it was that entertaining.

I would definitely recommend this book.

* I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review through https://mmgoodbookreviews.wordpress.com *

 

 

The Perfect Sub by Sean Michael

the-perfect-subTitle: The Perfect Sub

Series:  Iron Eagle Gym, #2

Author: Sean Michael

Genre: BDSM/Kink

Length: 220 pages

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (March 28, 2016)

Heat Level: Explicit

Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥4 Hearts

Blurb: Sequel to The New Boy

While new couple Tide and Lance spend time deepening their relationship and further introducing Lance to the joys and vagaries of being a sub, established couple Tyrone and Bran discover that they still have a thing or two to learn as well.

A new job finds Bran run off his feet, and a visit to the eye doctor leads to the discovery of a brain tumor. Bran is terrified. He strives to be the perfect sub for his beautiful master and sees the tumor as a personal failing as he tries to handle every last phone call, e-mail, and text that comes in, no matter how early or late.

When Tyrone finally finds out about the tumor Bran’s been keeping a secret, he realizes he’s been taking his sub for granted, and he works to rediscover his boy and their relationship. Of course, that’s easier said than done given that Bran’s job is taking up all his time and he would rather pretend the tumor just doesn’t exist than actually deal with it.

It’s going to take all of Tyrone’s prowess as a master to help guide Bran through these troubled waters…

ISBN: 978-1-63477-050-7

Product Link: https://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/books/the-perfect-sub-by-sean-michael-5106-b

Reviewer: Shorty

Review: This the second book in the Iron Eagle Gym series. Bran loves Tyrone, but due to his very low self-esteem he does not think he is good enough for him. When after a doctor’s visit he is told he has a brain tumor he spirals downward even further.

When Tyrone learns of the brain tumor he feels he let Bran down as a Dom. He does the only thing he can and tries to be there for him as much as he can.

I really felt for Bran as he feels so low about himself then to hear you have a brain tumor was devastating. I can’t imagine how he felt with all the stress of everything going on, on top of it.

Lance and Tide are a great couple. I love that fact that Lance is still learning what it means to be a sub as opposed to automatically knowing like in most books with someone new to the scene.

It was a great read with plenty of drama and hot sex to heat up the pages.

* I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review through https://mmgoodbookreviews.wordpress.com *

Honest Reviews for Readers and Writers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 15,730 other followers

%d bloggers like this: