Sunset Lake by John Inman ~ Audiobook

John Inman - Sunset Lake Cover AudioTitle: Sunset Lake

Author: John Inman

Genre:  Murder, Mystery, Suspense

Length: 11 Hours and 51 Minutes

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press LLC (February 23, 2016)

Narrator: Randal Schaffer

Heat Level: Moderate

Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥ 5 Hearts

Reviewer: Lisa

Blurb: Reverend Brian Lucas has a secret his congregation in the Nine Mile Methodist Church knows nothing about, and he’d really like to keep it that way. But even his Earth-shattering secret takes a backseat to what else is happening in his tiny hometown.

Murders usually do that.

Brian’s “close friend”, Sam, is urging a resolution to their little problem, but Brian’s brother, Boyd, the County Sheriff, is more caught up in chasing down a homicidal maniac who is slaughtering little old ladies.

When Brian’s secret and Boyd’s mystery run into each other head on, and Boyd’s 15-year-old son, Jesse, gets involved, all hell breaks loose. Then a fourth death comes to terrify the town, and it is Brian who begins to see what is taking place in their little corner of the Corn Belt. But even for a Methodist minister, it will take more than prayer to set it right.

Product Link: Audible US | Audible UK

Review: I had taken one look at the authors name and then the title and knew I wanted to listen to it. What really clicked with me was the length, for I really wanted something to listen to at work. I hadn’t had a chance to look at what the story was about so imagine my surprise to find out that the main character was a reverend for the Methodist Church. So the whole time I was like great there will not be any romance or sex. So I decided to look at it and found out that it was a murder mystery which is not one of my favorite types at all. I like those romances that have lots of humor in them. So I was thinking to just ditch the story and forget about it. I am so glad that I did not do that because this story had so many twists and turns, not to mention some hot sex between the reverend and his boyfriend. Now that was a hoot.

Brian has been keeping a secret from everyone but the man he loves and the man’s aunt. That is what he thought anyhow but it would be on hold when the first little old lady was murdered. The sheriff who just happens to be Brian’s brother lets Brian in on some secrets about the murder. By the next time there were two and he knew something was dangerously stalking the members of his own church.

All the while trying to come to terms that he loves Sam with his whole heart. He has to help solve the murders, keep some one else’s secrets and figure out his own life. The killer is close but you will never guess who it is.

John’s lighter romance has taken a backseat to his ability to give you a darker story that has some amazing twists to it. I can say that when I found out who the killer was, I about fell out of my chair. I never saw it coming. What’s more I kept thinking about the damn story for nearly two days trying to figure out how he did it. I love how it is more than just a mystery, but the romance is an added benefit and it shows the strength that families have together.

Randal is a new narrator to me so I wasn’t sure what to expect, but he rocked it. The voices were perfect for each character and gave me an insight into each voice. Although I thought through most of it that he needed to go faster, I realized that the pace for this story was just perfect.

I enjoyed it and would definitely recommend this book. I can’t wait for another story by this author and narrator.

The Right Words by Lane Hayes ~ Audiobook

Lane Hayes - The Right Words CoverTitle: The Right Words

Series: Right and Wrong 01

Author: Lane Hayes

Narrator: Michael Ferraiuolo

Genre: Contemporary Romance, Athlete-Coming Out

Length: 7 hrs and 25 mins

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press LLC (August 2015)

Heat Level: Moderate – Explicit

Narration: ♥♥♥♥♥ 5 Hearts

Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥ 5 Hearts

Blurb: Escaping an abusive relationship left Luke Preston anxious and spouting panic-induced poetry. Desperate for a fresh start, Luke accepts a job remodeling a tired old beach house for a professional soccer player and his model girlfriend. While his passion is literature, not sports, focusing on the renovations eases his anxiety. Until the job he signed up for turns out to be more complicated than advertised.

Sidelined with a serious injury, soccer star Michael Martinez decides his beach house is the perfect place to recuperate. Remodeling might be the diversion he needs to keep his mind off his busted knee. Falling for the pretty designer with some quirky habits wasn’t on the drawing board. Unfortunately, Luke didn’t build a big enough closet for Michael to hide in. Having a star-powered sports career used to be all Michael lived for, but he’ll have to reevaluate his plans and find the right words if he wants to build more than a beach house with Luke.

Product Link: Audible US |  Audible UK

Reviewer: Gigi

Review: First off, you’re in for a treat because this whole series is beautifully written and perfectly narrated. I absolutely have a new favorite narrator. I was so glad to see Lane Hayes wrote a series of these heartwarming, soul searching, and steamy novels.

This first book in the Right and Wrong Series, The Right Words, focuses on two alluring and flawed characters: Luke, the anxiety ridden interior decorator still on the mend from an abusive relationship who is slowly rebuilding his life and his career. Luke is desperate for this big new job, but just how much will he be willing to put on the line?

Michael, the sexy Latin lover even I want to take home, the jock soccer superstar who is healing from a sports injury and is hiding out in seclusion in his retro home, is certainly surprised by Luke showing up on his doorstep. It doesn’t help that Luke’s design services had been arranged by Michael’s disgruntled ex. Not a warm welcome as you can expect. These two have plenty of tension, attraction, and a journey of healing in common.

There are some fun plot twists, and fighting the drama of an athlete in the closet, a victim of abuse finding himself attracted to yet another boss, so many things could go up in flames. But the journey is wonderful, with splashes of heart sinking moments, tempered with some amazingly hot love scenes.

The most refreshing thing about how Hayes writes sexual encounters is that the main characters don’t rush right to the one finger, two finger, fuck trope. These lovers enjoy all the senses, the kiss, frottage, fellatio, simply being held by another human being, long before the intimacy of intercourse. Each scene, whether it be a simple kiss, or a hot grope up against a wall, is beautifully written and narrated to perfection. I love Michael’s accent, and the Spanish language is so perfect.

The Right Words is a refreshing journey through physical and psychological healing, bringing two lovers together against the odds and against society’s phobias. I loved it! Grab the whole series, you’ll be ready to load the next book as soon as you’re finished with the first!

Lonely Hearts & Yellow Ribbons by Stephani Hecht

Stephani Hecht - Lonely Hearts & Yellow Ribbons CoverTitle: Lonely Hearts & Yellow Ribbons

Author: Stephanie Hecht

Genre:  Contemporary

Length: Short Story (49 Pages)

Publisher: Pride Publishing (October 9, 2015)

Heat Level: Low

Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥ 4 Hearts

Blurb: Being apart from the one you love is the hardest thing to do, until you get them back to find they’ve changed…

PJ Ross Ervin is part of an elite force of rescue men from the Air Force. Only the best of the best make it through the program and get to wear the maroon beret. As such, he is proud of what he does and is happy to serve his country. The one drawback is that it takes him away from his long-time lover, Aden. Thankfully Ross’ deployment is over and he’s coming home.

Aden is excited to see Ross. But he can’t help but notice that his partner is having trouble adjusting back into the civilian world. Plus, there is the looming danger that Ross could be deployed again at any time. Will Ross have to leave to serve his county once more? And if so, can the pair survive the separation yet again?

ISBN: 978-1-78430-833-9

Product Link: https://www.pride-publishing.com/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=4222

Reviewer: Lisa

Review: This book has been previously published by Pride Publishing as part of the Aim High anthology.

I really wished that this was longer, because all it did was wet my appetite and left me wanting more. I am normally not one that really likes short stories, but there is just something about it that had me loving it. I mean I do wish that it was longer and with a happily ever after ending, but there is hope.

Aden and Ross are a couple, truly in love. Aden is a paramedic and Ross is a PJ. Now that Ross is home from his tour, he is having some difficulties adjusting. Aden just doesn’t know how to help him.

Now for many of us who know a bit about the military, then they get sent out more than once. In horrible places and lots of danger. I felt for them both but more for Aden because he feels that he can’t help his lover. However Ross can make your heart hurt also. I can tell you that other than the fact that it is short, it comes off as a strong story. I had a lot of fun reading this and look forward to reading more by Stephanie. She never does disappoint when she writes.

Retrograde by Bailey Bradford

Bailey Bradford - Retrograde CoverTitle: Retrograde

Series:  Southwestern Shifters 11

Author: Bailey Bradford

Genre: Action and Adventure, Paranormal, Wereshifters

Length: Novella (182 pages)

Publisher: Pride Publishing (3rd November 2015)

Heat Level: Moderate

Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥ 5 Hearts

Blurb: Letting go of the past to embrace the future…

Things are changing for Marcus and Nathan, in more ways than one. Nathan is still trying to deal with the action he took in order to save Marcus’ life. It isn’t easy to do, and sometimes he fears he’ll give in to all the doubts and fears plaguing him.

What they need is some time alone, without guards shadowing their every move, no one to interrupt. Because soon, they’ll be busier than ever.

A short vacation before the annual gathering of Alpha Anaxes at the compound, that’s what they decide to do. But their vacation isn’t so private when they discover a wild pack of young shifters barely surviving.

Changes are coming.

A strange young shifter with abilities neither Marcus nor Nathan have ever seen before. Alpha Anaxes and attitudes. An intruder in their midst. And with the help of Shania, the pack doctor, the most important event of Marcus and Nathan’s shared life is about to happen.

Changes are coming, and they’re coming fast. 

Reader Advisory: This book contains scenes of fisting.

ISBN: 978-1-78430-831-5

Reviewer: Shorty

Product Link:  https://www.pride-publishing.com/book/retrograde

Review: This is book eleven in Southwestern Shifters. Nathan struggles with what he did in the past but Marcus is there to help him every step of the way. I loved these two characters as they helped one another and lifted the other up when needed. They are definitely a powerhouse not to messed with. They are both fierce and loyal to those they care about.

I loved the introduction of new characters and was intensely curious about Asher and his abilities. I was deeply saddened by what happened to him but glad that he finally found a place to call home and not be afraid anymore. As always with Bailey’s books this one has the perfect blend of drama, action, life changing decisions and some extremely hot sex.

A fantastic addition to the southwestern shifters and highly recommended. Although I’m sad to see this series will soon be coming to an end it’s been amazing journey that I have felt privileged and honored to read. I will definitely be re-reading this entire series soon, it’s that good.

Destiny’s Call by A.M. Halford

A.M. Halford - Destiny's Call CoverTitle: Destiny’s Call

Series: Mages of the Nether 01

Author: A.M. Halford

Genre: Paranormal

Length: Novella (168 pages)

Publisher: Siren-Bookstrand, Inc. (May 4, 2016)

Heat Level: Moderate

Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥ 4 Hearts

Blurb: Aiden Dalrymple, the Medium for his generation, hates the fact he can’t practice the Craft normally. He tries again and again to use his family’s abilities in the traditional manner, always ending in failure. His parents swear he’s destined for greatness, something he highly doubts. What good could summoning creatures of the Nether do?

Daniel Bradford is a Mage, having studied the Craft since he was young. He returns home from college upon being called by his family. His mother, gifted with the Sight, has foreseen a great calamity within the Nether and he is to play a part in bringing balance. Him and one other.

Aiden and Daniel are sent to the Nether to prevent the foreseen disaster. While they’re there Daniel must find a way to bring balance to Aiden himself, and make him accept the fact he is the only one that can help them solve this mystery.

ISBN: 9781682951996

Product Link: http://www.bookstrand.com/book/destinys-call

Reviewer: Shorty 

Review: Interesting story about two mages who have been interested in the other from a distance. Adrian is a medium and though everyone tells him he has a gift he thinks it’s a curse. Daniel is a prince who is summoned by his mother to help on a mission of great importance.

The journey they found themselves on was knowledgeable as Aiden found the answers he needed to help him understand who he is, what he can do and what his purpose is. It was fascinating to learn about the mediums and how they came about.

I am looking forward to reading more about the nether and the group who almost wiped out Aiden’s ancestors. I have to say I could not stand Daniel’s mother as she seemed to hate Aiden for some reason only she knows.  I really enjoyed how these two seemed to balance each other out. Adrian grew as a person under Daniel’s care and with the help of the nether. I was happy to see him for the man he could be.

Great read.

Reawakening by Amy Rae Durreson

Amy Rae Durreson - Reawakening CoverTitle: Reawakening (2nd edition)

Series:  Reawakening 01

Author: Amy Rae Durreson

Genre: High Fantasy

Length: Novel (280 pages)

Publisher: DSP Publications (October 27, 2015)

Heat Level: Low

Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥ 4 Hearts

Blurb: For a thousand years, since their defeat of the Shadow at Eyr, the dragons have slept under the mountains. Now their king, Tarnamell, has woken. Driven mad by loneliness, he hurls himself south until he finds and tries to claim the Alagard Desert. Unfortunately, the desert already has a guardian spirit, and he doesn’t want to share. Amused by the cocky little desert spirit, Tarn retreats, planning to return in human form. 

When his caravan enters the desert, however, Alagard is missing. Rumors fly of a dark power, and soon Tarn’s caravan encounters the living dead and an amnesiac mage called Gard.

Forced to take refuge in the Court of Shells, a legendary fortress in the heart of the desert, Tarn, Gard, and their allies decide to seek out the Shadow before it destroys the desert. But to confront the Shadow, Tarn needs to gather his strength. A dragon’s power depends on the love and loyalty of his human hoard, but Tarn’s original hoard has been dead for centuries. Before he can face his most ancient enemy, he must win the trust of new followers and the heart of a cynical desert spirit.

First Edition published by Dreamspinner Press, 2014.

ISBN-13: 978-1-63476-166-6

Product Link: https://www.dsppublications.com/books/reawakening-by-amy-rae-durreson-163-b

Reviewer: Shorty 

Review: I have mixed feelings on this story. Hence the lower rating than I would have usually given this type of story. Tarn has awoken from a very long sleep and so sets out to find a new horde. A horde of people? Umm could you not have said people loyal to him? They are not treasures they are living beings. 

I understood Alagard’s antic’s in his spirit form but not in his form. He absolutely got on my nerves then. The story line slows on and off throughout and it drove me crazy as i was like can we speed things up please I don’t have all day.

Other than those things I really enjoyed this story. It was well written with adventure and mystery. Not to mention the evil guy that most paranormal stories have in them. I was captivated by the descriptions of the places where Tarn travelled on his mission. 

Great read.

Haven’s War by Parker Williams Blog Tour, Interview, Excerpt & Giveaway!

MM Good Book Blog Tours

Hiya guys! Today we have the wonderful Parker Williams stopping by for a visit with his delicious new release Haven’s War, I was lucky enough to pin Parker down for a couple of hours and interview him, we have a great excerpt, a fantastic giveaway and my review, so check out the post and click that giveaway link! ❤ ~Pixie~

Parker Williams - Haven's War Cover

Haven’s War

(Safe Haven 02)
by

Parker Williams

With Haven on an extended honeymoon with Sammy, bad guys around the world are breathing a lot easier. No one is better at permanently removing these lowlifes who target children—and the brutal murder of two teenage girls makes clear it’s past time to return to work. Haven’s first assignment back results in a new family member and a renewed sense of urgency to protect and avenge the innocent.

There is nothing ‘usual’ about the business of hunting predators, but when several…

View original post 6,123 more words

Moro’s Price by M. Crane Hana Blog Tour, Exclusive Excerpt, Review & Giveaway!

MM Good Book Blog Tours

M. Crane Hana - Moro's Price BT Banner

Hi guys, we have M. Crane Hana popping in today with her new re-release Moro’s Price, we have a fantastic exclusive excerpt, a brilliant giveaway and my review, so check out the post and click that giveaway link! ❤ ~Pixie~

M. Crane Hana - Moro's Price Cover

Moro’s Price

by

M. Crane Hana

Crown Prince, techno-geek, and secret sadomasochist Valier has lusted for years after the gorgeous gladiator called “The Diamond.” Meeting the escaped slave on a rooftop, Valier discovers Moro Dalgleish wants suicide before his former masters can reclaim him.

Infected with a deadly symbiont, Valier proposes empty sex to satisfy his urges and grant Moro’s release from a horrible life. Neither man plans for Moro to survive, or how the morning after will shake three empires to their foundations.

Warning: Scenes of rape and torture, graphic violence

NineStar Press | Amazon | Smashwords | B&N | Kobo

View original post 1,543 more words

Texting, AutoCorrect, and a Prius by M.A. Church Guest Post & Excerpt!

MM Good Book Blog Tours

Hiya peeps! We have M.A. Church visiting today with her brand new release Texting, AutoCorrect, and a Prius (don’t you just love that title!), M.A. tells us some of her secrets and we have a new excerpt so guys, check out the post and enjoy! ❤ ~Pixie~

M.A. Church - Texting, AutoCorrect, and a Prius Cover

Texting, AutoCorrect, and a Prius

by

M.A. Church

Clay McDonald finds the perfect car on Craigslist and is quick to send the seller a text:

Is your penis still for sale?

AutoCorrect strikes again. Damn—he should’ve proofread. How embarrassing.

Luckily Darrell Anderson, a mechanic and the owner of the Prius, is more amused than offended, and the two men agree to meet. When they do, the attraction is instant, and a date is arranged. But a series of mishaps, misunderstandings, and misplaced assumptions sorely test the new relationship.

In a contemporary romantic comedy about the perils of technology and dating in the modern world…

View original post 857 more words

Wolf of the Northern Star by S.J. Himes Blog Tour, Guest Post, Exclusive Excerpt, Review & Giveaway!

MM Good Book Blog Tours

S.J. Himes - Wolf of the Northern Star BT banner

Hiya guys! We have the incredible S.J. Himes stopping in today with the tour for her new release Wolf of the Northern Star, we have an excellent guest post, a new excerpt, an exclusive excerpt, an awesome giveaway and Shorty’s review, so check out the post and click that giveaway! ~Pixie~ 

S.J. Himes - Wolf of the Northern Star Cover

Wolf of the Northern Star

(The Wolfkin Saga 02)
by

S.J. Himes

Ghost, once known as the cub Luca, is finally home. Back among his kind and learning what it means to be both a man and a shaman, Ghost battles the expectations of his people, his family, and the pressures of a society that is both foreign and familiar. His power is greater than any seen before, dwarfing that of even the legendary Shaman Gray Shadow—and his union with Kane places him in the center of a controversy that rattles wolfkin society around the world.

Kane, greater…

View original post 2,816 more words

Making A Splash by Sean Michael Guest Post & Excerpt!

MM Good Book Blog Tours

Hi guys! We have Sean Michael popping in today with their upcoming new re-release Making A Splash, we have a brilliant guest post from Sean and a fantastic short excerpt, so check out the post and enjoy! ❤ ~Pixie~

Sean Michael - Making A Splash Cover

Making A Spalsh

by

Sean Michael

After a scandal of Olympic proportions, Vince Dawson lost his job as a diving coach and is on a downhill slide. So when he sees Austin Brody at a local pool, diving like a trained athlete, he thinks he’s found his ticket back to the big leagues.

Austin thinks Vince is crazy for wanting him to dive competitively. He dives for beer and smokes, while working double shifts as a welder. Still, he’ll give training with Vince a shot.

But Austin isn’t willing to let Vince rule his life, and Vince—used to hopeful young athletes folding under pressure from him—finds Austin baffling… and hot…

View original post 616 more words

Love and the Stubborn by Xenia Melzer

Xenia Melzer - Love and the Stubborn CoverTitle: Love and the Stubborn

Series:  Gods of War # 2

Author: Xenia Melzer

Genre: Fantasy

Length: Novel (334 pages)

Publisher: DSP Publications (December 13, 2016)

Heat Level: Moderate

Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥ 3.75 Hearts

Blurb: All is fair in love and war. By now, Renaldo has found out the hard way how utterly stupid this statement is once you’ve met your match. And Casto won’t give an inch in their ongoing war for love.

After a tumultuous start to their relationship, Renaldo and Casto seem to have finally reached calmer waters. But just when Renaldo starts getting comfortable and thinks he can relax, things get out of hand again. His old enemy, the Good Mother, is dangerously close to defeating the divine brothers by reaching out to what is most dear to him. Casto still clinging to his stubborn pride is all the plotters need to drive him and Renaldo apart. Burdened by the secrets of his past, Casto fights with everything he’s got not only to save his life, but also to secure his future happiness. Facing the destruction of everything they have built together, Renaldo and Casto must choose between pride and love.

ISBN-13: 978-1-63477-190-0

Product Link: https://www.dsppublications.com/books/love-and-the-stubborn-by-xenia-melzer-336-b

Reviewer: Shorty 

Review: I have to say from the beginning of this book I hated Renaldo. I cannot honestly understand someone who claims to love another then turns around, because Casto was late, and forces him to accompany him to a festival where he allows him to be touched by another, paraded nude around others and then has sex with him through the night as a part of a display of ownership knowing that Casto did not want to.

Renaldo was way too full of himself. The way he treated Casto was atrocious. I would have left. I loved Casto’s spirit and defiance. Unfortunately it seemed as if Renaldo wanted instant submission yet for him to be defiant. That is contradictory to say the least. I think Renaldo should not have been in a relationship as he knew not what he actually wanted.

There were a lot of POV’s by different characters throughout this story. It gave an added depth to the story. So much happens that it’s impossible to write about everything. Some want both Renaldo and Casto gone for good. Some want just Casto gone and still others want to see them succeed. 

As with all stories there are villains in this one there are more than one that will stop at nothing to destroy Renaldo and Casto. The though was well written with a master/slave theme, suspenseful, drama humiliation aspects at times. It was an o.k. read. I did not enjoy it as much as I did the first book.

Countermind by Adrian Randall

Adrian Randall - Countermind CoverTitle: Countermind 

Author: Adrian Randall

Genre: Paranormal, Science Fiction

Length: Novel (286 pages)

Publisher: DSP Publications (February 28, 2017)

Heat Level: Nil

Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥ 4 Hearts

Blurb: In a postprivacy future, secrets are illegal and all communication is supervised. Telepaths are registered and recruited by a government with no qualms about invading the minds of its citizens. Fugitive psychics are hunted by the Bureau of Counterpsychic Affairs, or Countermind.

Alan Izaki is one such fugitive, as well as a hacker, grifter, and thief.

Countermind agent Jack Smith is hunting him through the twisted underbelly of Hong Kong.

But Alan possesses a secret so dangerous and profound it will not only shake Smith’s loyalties, but the foundations of their society.

And Alan isn’t the only one on the run. Rogue psychic Arissa binti Noor escapes Countermind, in search of brilliant game designer Feng Huang. She hopes that together, they can destroy the government’s intrusive Senex monitoring system.

Their goals seem at odds, and their lives are destined to collide. When they do, three very different people must question their alliances and their future, because everything is about to change.

ISBN-13: 978-1-63533-269-8

Product Link: https://www.dsppublications.com/books/countermind-by-adrian-randall-356-b

Reviewer: Shorty 

Review: Let me start by saying this story was complex. The terminology used in it confused me at times but never the less I understand the nature of what it meant the further I read. A glossary would have been nice though to have a reference to look at. So much takes place in this book there is no way I can cover every character and twist in the review.

The Countermind agency is tasked with keeping psychics from using their abilities in an unlawful way by any means necessary, including reprogramming. This is done by using a telepath. What I found strange that they use other telepaths to scan minds in the guise of looking for rogues. Yet it is against the law for other telepaths to do the same.

There was an overabundance of information throughout this story. So much so that I had to continuously stop and restart reading. I found Jack’s character to be without emotions and cold at times. He seemed almost inhuman. But he thawed the further I read and started thinking for himself at the end. 

Alan makes his living as a thief. He’s extremely smart and cunning for his age. There is a massive mystery surrounding who he is which I will not go into less I spoil it for other readers. Arissa is a Countermind agent in training who is a powerful telepath. Zheng is the head of Countermind and most defiantly is not who he seems.

There is abundance of mystery, adventure, deceit, betrayal and drama throughout. All these ingredients and characters made for a great read with plenty of twists and turns to keep the reader intrigued

Left Behind by Douglas Black

Douglas Black - Left Behind CoverTitle: Left Behind

Series: Abducted Hearts #1

Author: Douglas Black

Genre: Contemporary, Paranormal

Publisher: Loose ID (December 12, 2016)

Length: Novella (115 Pages)

Heat Level: Low

Heart Rating: ♥♥♥ 3 Hearts

Blurb:  Faced with the prospect of spending Christmas alone with his daughter, Havana, in the house he used to share with his husband, widower Stewart Robertson heads north to a campsite in Glen Coe in the Scottish Highlands. There, he meets Gary James, an American parapsychologist with beliefs very different to Stewart’s own.

The sexual attraction is instantaneous, and overwhelming, and when Gary asks Stewart to spend Christmas with him and his friends in Fort William, Stewart agrees. Knowing next to nothing about each other, the two quickly start a physical relationship.

Stewart, emotional, angry and still reeling from the recent death of his husband, doesn’t know if he’s ready to start dating again, but he can’t deny that he wants Gary, a man who is keeping a secret that threatens to derail any chance of a happy ending before they even get started.

ISBN: 978-1-68252-243-1

Product Link: http://www.loose-id.com/abducted-hearts-1-left-behind.html

Reviewer:  Lisa

Review:  When I chose this book I was thinking on a different line to what this story is about.  I knew I should have read the blurb but nope I decided to just grab and read.  

Stewart lost his husband over a year ago to cancer.  He is left behind with their daughter to figure out how to make life good again.  He is a weird guy who doesn’t believe in anything that can’t be proven.  He decides to take his daughter to a campsite instead of doing Christmas with her.  Like I said he is weird.  Anyway he meets Gary and Gary’s nephew Lucas.  If Stewart doesn’t believe in some things such as religion or heaven, can you imagine how he is going to feel about what Gary does for a living.

Gary is a parapsychologist but he has a secret that he is not telling Stewart about.  Something that is bizarre enough to get Stewart to run.  Something that is hard to believe, but Gary is scared that it might just end what is becoming love.

I am sorry but this book is so damn slow paced that it was just off to me.  To top it off ghosts and alien abduction, I am with Stewart on this.  However it is a fantasy book and the story was pretty good even if it was slower then what I would have liked.  I hate to admit that it was just a tad bit boring also.  I hope the next book sparks a bit more interest than this one did. To top it off, it ends in a cliff hanger, not one of my favorite things. 

A Year and A Day by Elizabeth Silver & Jenny Urban

Elizabeth Silver & Jenny Urban - A Year and A Day CoverTitle: A Year and a Day

Series: Fae Haven #1

Author: Elizabeth Silver & Jenny Urban

Genre: Fantasy, Fae 

Publisher: Loose ID (October 17, 2016)

Length: Novella (110 Pages)

Heat Level: Low

Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥ 3.5 Hearts

Blurb: Reserved, bookish Ben isn’t looking for a relationship. Then he meets Niall, a gorgeous stranger with a knack for avoiding direct questions, and tumbles headfirst into love. Niall is perfect in just about every way, right up until he leaves town for a short trip…and vanishes off the face of the earth. 

A magical being trapped in his own realm, Niall has to fight to come back to this world for the chance to be with Ben. But by the time he gets back, more than a year has passed, and Ben refuses to believe Niall’s story of Fae and magic. 

With only a month to woo Ben back and earn a chance at staying here permanently, Niall is willing to try anything to be with the man he loves. Then Niall’s world spills over into ours and puts Ben’s life in danger, forcing them work together to save Ben before their stolen time comes to an end.

ISBN: 978-1-68252-226-4

Product Link: http://www.loose-id.com/a-year-and-a-day.html

Reviewer:  Lisa

Review:  Ben is a teacher of folklore and very reserved in nature, whereas Niall is fae.  In the fae’s life they are given one year to go to the human world and see whatever they want.  Time is different in each world, where three days here is about a year in Niall’s world.  They are immortal creatures that love to play pranks and jokes.  

When Niall comes across to the human world he is finding it a bit boring.  That is until he comes across Ben striding out of the water.  His heart takes a beat and he wants whatever he can get with this man, however going home to inform his family that he wants to stay with Ben leads into disaster.  Disaster meaning he was gone from the human world for almost a year.  Ben has no need for a man like that, but then again he has no real clue what Niall truly is.  Then the huntsman catches his scent and the paranormal world is brought right out into the open.  

I came across these authors at different times, having read a book or two by these women made me decide to give this story a chance.  However I have got to say that it was one hell of a weird story.  It starts off a bit fast and things are moving at a great pace, but then it felt like they rushed the rest of it.  It doesn’t make the story change but it just made it feel off.  I am still not too sure I liked it or not, but will reserve judgment for a later time.  I can’t imagine these two worlds in this way and I am not a big fan of the fae, but I did get a kick out of them

So I am off to read book two in this series and hope to see these two in the next story even if it is just a peek.  

Honest Reviews for Readers and Writers

%d bloggers like this: