Against the Grain by Charlie Cochet ~ Audiobook

51a5MefJ7NL._AA300_Title: Against the Grain
Series: THIRDS, Book 5
Author: Charlie Cochet
Genre: Paranormal Urban Suspense
Length: 7 Hours and 58 Minutes
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press LLC (October 22, 2015)
Narrator: Mark Westfield
Heat Level: Moderate
Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥5 Hearts
Blurb: As the fiercest defense agent at the THIRDS, Destructive Delta’s Ash Keeler is foul-mouthed and foul tempered. But his hard-lined approach always yields results, evident by his recent infiltration of the Coalition.

Thanks to Ash’s skills and the help of his team, they finally put an end to the murdering extremist group for good, though not before Ash takes a bullet to save teammate Cael Maddock. As a result, Ash’s secrets start to surface, and he can no longer ignore what’s in his heart.

Cael Maddock is no stranger to heartache. As a recon agent for Destructive Delta, he has successfully maneuvered through the urban jungle that is New York City, picking up his own scars along the way. Yet nothing he’s ever faced has been more of a challenge than the heart of Ash Keeler, his supposedly straight teammate.

Being in love isn’t the only danger he and Ash face as wounds reopen and new secrets emerge, forcing them to question old loyalties.

Product Link: http://amzn.to/1TdF9q0

Reviewer: Lisa

Review: To enjoy the overall effects of this series I would suggest starting with the first book, because let me tell you they rock. This series just keeps getting better and better even after listening to them over and over. Which is exactly what I did with this story. There is so much action, suspense, a bit of a mystery, hot sex, twists and turns in this that my attention was captured from the moment it started.

Charlie gives you an entertaining story with hot men and two very feisty girls, then adds in danger and excitement. Not to mention the humor from Dex, which always rocks. I couldn’t wait to hear about Ash and Cael from the moment I opened the first book. You could see right from the start that there was something there, just the right amount of heat. However the fear was still there. I loved getting to know Cael just a bit more also. He is my favorite of them all with his cute cheetah fir.

Ash and Cael had been friends from the start, when Cael flustered and the coffee went all over. Ash just couldn’t say a bad thing to him. He was attracted from the moment he saw him, but his past keeps getting in the way. He had been with a boy when his twin was killed. He felt guilty and punished himself many times over. From then on it was just screwing women, that is until Cael. He wanted so much more.

Cael had been adopted by Tony but not all of his life was good. He tended to pick asshats for boyfriends, with one of them on the top of the worst list. When he shows up, it is intent of pain that pushes Ash closer. Now the whole team knows about them, Cael fears that Ash would never really move forward.

What really surprised me about this story was Tony’s reaction and attitude, it was a blast. Then there are the twists and turns in this story that had me sitting on the edge of my seat waiting to find out who was the bad guy. Now I must admit though that I do wish there was more action involving their Therian side.

The first few books had it, but this one not really as much which I missed. I loved how Dex gives Ash hell and tells him to treat his brother right or it was going to be Alaska. Dex is always fun to have around.

Mark did a wonderful job with the story but for some reason it didn’t come off as good as the first four books, but still didn’t divert from the story itself. He brought the characters alive and made them sound just as I imagined them to be. However with all of the men’s voices in this audible you could tell that Mark was trying to make them different but didn’t really catch it.

I loved the ending and the shock that they had. It had me laughing my ass off at it. I loved that Ash worked through his problems and he got a surprise of his own that had me smiling. I can see myself listening to this more than a dozen times, and I say that because I have already listened to it four of those dozen times. I had so much fun listening to this and can’t wait for book six. Charlie rocks the THIRDS world.

I would definitely recommend it.
* I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review through https://mmgoodbookreviews.wordpress.com *

Chrysalis Corporation by T.A. Venedicktov

o-chrysalis-corporationTitle: Chrysalis Corporation
Series: Chrysalis Corporation, # 1
Author: T.A. Venedicktov
Genre: Science Fiction
Length: 350 pages
Publisher: DSP Publications (November 17, 2015)
Heat Level: Moderate
Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥3.75 Hearts
Blurb: Together, they can change the rules of the galaxy and the definition of humanity.

When Damion Hawk is offered an opportunity to escape the destitute life of a miner on Mars and become an elite Alpha Fighter pilot, he jumps at the chance. Within the Chrysalis Corporation, Damion must learn to work with his Core—a man with computerized implants, no human emotions—and no rights. But unlike other Fighters, Damion can’t treat Core 47 as a tool. He sees 47 as more than a machine, and he’ll take deadly risks to help 47 find the humanity inside him.

Fighters and Cores are designed to work together and enhance each other’s strengths in defense of their employer. Damion and 47 will need each other’s support as suspicions about the all-powerful Chrysalis Corporation arise. Someone wants Damion and 47 gone, and they need to find out who and why while hiding 47’s growing emotions and the love forming between them.

If they can succeed, they might save not only themselves, but all Cores enslaved by the Corporation.

ISBN: 978-1-63476-172-7

Product Link: https://www.dsppublications.com/books/chrysalis-corporation-by-ta-venedicktov-175-b

Reviewer: Shorty

Review: This is the first book in the Chrysalis Corporation series.

Damion Hawk becomes an elite fighter pilot and learns to work with Core 47. I really liked the plot of this book. It intrigued me to the point that I could not put it down until the very end. I didn’t like the fact that the corporation treated the Cores no better than slaves and abused them. That pissed me off.

The character I liked most in this book was Core 47. Despite the life he lives and the way he has been treated he is determined to have a better life. I admired that about him and cheered him on throughout the book.

The mystery in the book was great and had me reading until the end to find out what happens. However this book does end with a cliffhanger so I assume there will be another book to answer unanswered questions that arose.

Now on to what I did not like. Though I liked the overall story I was surprised by all the run on sentences. Was this book edited? If so this should have been caught. I didn’t understand the romance part of this book as it seemed like Damion was twisting things so Core 47 felt he had to have sex with him. That bothered me as I felt at times he was no better than the others who abused the cores.

By the end I was in conflict as to how I felt about this book.

But overall it was an interesting read.

* I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review through https://mmgoodbookreviews.wordpress.com *

Elias by Catherine Lievens

28567911Title: Elias
Series: Gillham Pack, #
Author: Catherine Lievens
Genre: Paranormal/ Shapeshifters
Length: 125 pages
Publisher: Extasy Books (January 15, 2016)
Heat Level: Moderate
Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥5 Hearts
Blurb: I have read several books by Caitlin and only a handful by A.J. Marcus so I was a bit disappointed in this story. In fact this series has not turned out the way I had wished. There is so much potential in them but the follow thru is lacking. There were a lot of holes in this story which was a disappointment.

Not only are they to short but they come off very rushed and shallow.

ISBN: 978-1-4874-0623-3

Product Link: http://www.extasybooks.com/catherine-lievens/elias/

Reviewer: Lisa

Review: Each book in the Gillham Pack collection features a different romantic couple. To enjoy the overall story arc and crossover characters, I would recommend reading the series in sequential order.

Elias has always had a crush on Zane and has finally been asked. Then he walks into his home and finds his mate. Talk about a big surprise because it is none other than his father’s best friend and a man he called uncle.

Blake had left six years ago because of many reasons. One was the fact that he was gay and the second was he had realized that his mate is none other than his best friend’s twelve year old son. In those times, the alpha back then was a homophobic asshat who would have killed him.

Now he was back as an enforcer.

So on top of the idea of mating, and his father’s not so happy attitude, there is some freaky crap going on. A creature who can poison and kill with just a little scrape of his claw. Plus the idea of new friends has made this book a load of fun and their lives a bit more quirky.

I love the way all the feelings they felt was involved in this story. Although the final line in the story had me gasping.

I would definitely recommend reading this book.

* I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review through https://mmgoodbookreviews.wordpress.com *

A Valentine Surprise: Big, Bad Dragon by Aeryn Jaden

510djV4tD5L._SX373_BO1,204,203,200_Title: A Valentine Surprise: Big, Bad Dragon
Series: Fated, #1
Author: Aeryn Jaden
Genre: Paranormal
Length: 112 pages
Publisher: Aeryn Jaden (February 7, 2016)
Heat Level: Explicit
Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥5 Hearts
Blurb: What if you suddenly found yourself in a Dragon’s Lair? What would you do? Mmmm. Enjoy it, of course. Especially when the dragon is so yummy!

Ryuu had spent his life having to explain why he likes dressing in woman’s clothes and resenting that he was different. Travelling the country with his boyfriend and working as a drag queen entertainer had been fun. Until it got old. The moving around and the boyfriend. Finding a new stable job in Boston is a godsend. He doesn’t know yet just how true that statement is is.

Troy lives in his caves. He hardly goes out, unless his somewhat friend, Hermes, makes him. Yes, that Hermes. And Troy’s that old. And weary. He’s a naga dragon and has no time or patience for humans’ bullshit. Then he hits a human with his car and takes him home to heal. His life will never be the same.

Will the stubborn dragon realize what treasure he had stumbled upon, with a bit of friendly help? The sex is great but is that the only think that is special about Ryuu? Even if he does open his eyes in time, Ryuu may not survive the sudden immerse in a world where dragons are venomous snake-like hunky guys and mythological gods own clubs.

Especially if you mix in all the craziness an impulsive competitive brother and a scary as hell future mother-in-law.

Product Link: http://amzn.to/20pIjGk

Reviewer: Lisa

Review: The first thing I want to say about this story is it is one teaser2weird book. At first I was not sure if I was going to like it, but have to say it definitely catches you attention. Although I must admit I haven’t seen a perfect Valentine’s Day either, but to listen to Troy go on about it was funny as hell.

There is nothing better than a good paranormal romance that captures you attention from the beginning and keeps it there. Well that is not true an MPreg one is the best. I get so damn tickled at the fact that a guy can get pregnant. I love the way they panic and say but I am a man. Ryuu’s was the best so far. However I did feel bad for the poor dude stuck in a crazy ass family. And to think his brother might be Python’s mate rocks. Those two deserve each other.

Ryuu had hated his life stuck in a rut so to speak. He wanted to end his relationship with Brad, but he didn’t think getting hit by a truck was any better. However he at least had a sexy blue haired guy taking care of him. And oh was he taking care of him. Then a few quirks screw it all up, but at least it was back on the right path. That is until he finds out he is now a little dragon. Wow and to think dressing up as a woman was his only kink.

Troy hated Valentine’s Day and didn’t much care for humans, but now he might have found the one. His life is about to get even crazier, for he has gotten his little man pregnant. His mother was going to have a blast with this.

This story was quirky and funny as hell. I look forward to reading the next story.

I had a blast with this and would definitely recommend it.

* I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review through https://mmgoodbookreviews.wordpress.com *

Cast Off by KC Burns

CastOffAUDLGTitle: Cast Off
Series: Toronto Tales, #3
Author: KC Burn
Narrator: Tristan James
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Length: 7 hours and 35 minutes
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (June 12th 2014)
Heat Level: Moderate
Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥5 Hearts
Blurb: Thirty-five-year-old Rick Haviland is a well-respected speech pathologist, but while his friends are all settling into relationships, he refuses to give up his no-strings-attached club boy sex life. For him, relationships are dangerous; he’s got a secret to hide. When he meets Ian O’Donnell, an account manager with a local tabloid, Rick figures his personal rules for relationships should be enough to keep him safe from more than a one-night stand.

When Ian comes out of the closet, tired of anonymous hook-ups and keeping secrets from his large Catholic family, Rick is right there, and he’s just the sort of man Ian might like to get to know better. Their attraction is immediate, electric and mutual. Ian convinces Rick to break more and more of his rules and his defenses crumble. But someone watches. Someone who’d like to see this new relationship fail.

When Ian’s job becomes a means to expose Rick’s secret, it could destroy both their careers and their hearts.

Product Link(s): https://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=5207

http://amzn.to/1XeAB1K

Reviewer: Tams

Review: Rick Haviland doesn’t do attachments. He does one night stands and occasionally, finds a friend that is willing to share the benefits of a hook-up only kind of relationship. But as soon as a guy starts acting like a “keeper”, their name is scratched off the list.

Meeting Ian O’Donnell changes everything. Rick keeps his past tucked away, never revealing his whole self to anyone, not even his best friends. That shadow that looms over Rick is what has kept him from getting to close to anyone, but Ian slowly breaks down all Rick’s barriers and he finds himself wanting more with someone for the first time ever.

Ian is no stranger to keeping secrets; he hid his sexuality from everyone he knew until recently. When his brother, Curt, who is also Ian’s best friend, came out to their family Ian was pissed. Not at Curt mind you, but at himself for not having the courage at the time to do the same.

From the start, Ian wants more than just a casual hook-up kind of relationship with Rick, but he recognizes the look of sheer terror in Rick’s eyes at just the mention of anything to do with any type of commitment. So Ian works the friend angle instead. The man is actually courting Rick, and Rick doesn’t even realize it. But darkness in your past is never forgotten and not easily washed away.

When Rick’s past invades his present, it could destroy them both.

This is probably my favorite book of this series. Ian was definitely the stronger of the two men, both physically and emotionally. That being said, I liked that he was the one that kind of had blinders on when usually, it would have been the other way around.

Ian is so focused on Rick that he doesn’t see when another guy is blatantly flirting. And then Rick decides to ignore what he sees when someone is slashing his tires, keying his car and setting his porch on fire. Both men are forced to pay attention when Rick receives an envelope of very revealing images.

While the images could destroy both men’s careers as well as Rick’s entire world, they force Rick to be completely open and honest with Ian about his past. Again, I really liked the way this played out. Rick is convinced that Ian will duck and run, cast him off just like everyone always does when they learn the truth. But Ian is already completely committed, he digs his heels in a stays.

Opposites definitely attract in this book, narrated by Tristan James, and he really brought the characters to life. He nails the Irish brogue perfectly any time he speaks it, and he has these subtle shifts in his voice that alert the listener to a change in the characters attitude or mood. You also don’t have to wonder who is speaking as James clearly changes tone and inflection from one character to another.

The series as a whole is very well written, the various characters are all part of the same family and close knit circle of friends.

So I would not only recommend you giving this one a read or a listen, I would recommend doing so in order so you can fully appreciate the books as the Author intended.

* I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review through https://mmgoodbookreviews.wordpress.com *

Chasing His Fortune by Aiden Bates

51i6jd94KTL._SX351_BO1,204,203,200_*Title free on Amazon at time of posting*
Title: Chasing His Fortune
Series: Lingering Arms, #1
Author: Aiden Bates
Genre: Paranormal/ Shapeshifter/ MPreg
Length: 49 pages
Publisher: Aiden Bates (January 18, 2016)
Heat Level: Explicit
Heart Rating: ♥♥♥4 Hearts
Blurb: Lingering Arms Apartments looks like any old apartment building in any big city. But the similarities end there, as its residents are anything but typical. Silas is a gruff private eye whose job is to help those in need.

What will happen when he finds himself attracted to the suspected thief of a million-dollar treasure? Hot cam-boy Dev always seems to know exactly what his clients desire. What’s his secret? Will he ever get what he himself desires? And what’s the story of the mysterious tenant behind the door of Apartment 4?

The residents of Lingering Arms are keeping many sexy secrets.

Product Link: http://amzn.to/1TdsROs

Reviewer: Lisa

Review: There is nothing better than a good paranormal romance with two gorgeous men, well unless one of those sexy men can get pregnant. Now I have to say that this would have been a top-notch story if it had not only been longer but more action to it. I wasn’t sure about going between Silas and his boyfriend and Dev’s little hot show. It makes it a bit stranger however it also makes me want to read the next story.

Dev has one hell of a sexy and kinky little occupation that involves some really hot kink. He is looking for love but fears what one would think when they find out what he is. Whereas Silas is not only a hot alpha, but a private investigator. His first case involves the man he is falling for. There is a mystery to this that has the perfect twist.

One cannot really give you a good description of the story without giving it away, but it is a fun little read. I look forward to it because so far it is looking to be a hot little piece.

I would definitely recommend this.

* I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review through https://mmgoodbookreviews.wordpress.com *

Until September by Chris Scully Blog Tour, Guest Post, Excerpt, Review & Giveaway!

Chris Scully - Until September _TourBanner

Hiya peeps, today we have Chris Scully popping in with her new release Until September, Chris chats about people watching, we have an awesome excerpt, a fantastic giveaway and Aerin’s review, so enjoy the post and leave a comment to enter the giveaway! <3 ~Pixie~

Chris Scully - Until September _600x900

Until September

by

Chris Scully

As a teenager, Archie Noblesse clawed his way out of the poverty, heartache, and abuse of the reservation and left his family behind. Desperate to shake the shadow of his past, he reinvents himself as Archer Noble, an outspoken blogger and controversial author who lives only for himself. But when his beloved sister dies, Archer is saddled with guardianship of his niece and nephew.

Elementary school teacher Ryan Eriksson is devastated when his best friend Marguerite is killed, leaving her two young children orphaned. Helping Archer with his new responsibilities eases his grief, but when Archer offers him custody of the children, Ryan’s left with an impossible choice: get the family he’s always wanted, or respect Margie’s wishes and convince Archer to give parenting—and his heritage—a chance.

To buy time, Ryan promises to stay for the summer, hoping that Archer will change his mind and fall for the kids. But Archer’s reluctant, and the growing attraction between him and Ryan complicates matters. Legal decisions must be made, and soon, before Ryan returns to school. But with hearts involved, more than just the children’s future is on the line.

Continue reading Until September by Chris Scully Blog Tour, Guest Post, Excerpt, Review & Giveaway!

Slash Op by J. Johanis Cover Reveal & Giveaway!

J. Johanis - Slash Op Banner

Hiya guys, we have J. Johanis stopping by to show of the awesome cover to her upcoming release Slash Op, the second book in her Toy Soldier series. Check out the stunning cover and then click that fantastic giveaway! <3 ~Pixie~ 

J. Johanis - Slash Op 3D large

Slash Op

(Toy Soldier 02)
by

J. Johanis

The White House has ordered the execution of a highly sensitive covert operation in dragon-occupied territory. Though a Slash Op has a zero percent survival rate, the commanding general is forced to enlist his most prized officer for the task.

Major Gideon is embarking on his first mission in the dragon district. Yet Gideon has hardly recovered from all that Drago made him endure. For the past three months, Gideon has been plagued with dreams of Drago terrorizing him, but his dreams have gradually turned into sexual fantasies. Despite coming to terms with his longing to have Drago in bed, Gideon cannot suppress his desire to beat Drago’s face in. When Gideon is called for a mission in the most dangerous district on Earth, what freaks him out the most is the prospect of seeing Drago again.

Content Advisory: Graphic violence, dragon sex, & non-con.

Release date: 29th February 2016
Pre-order Amazon: Amazon | ARe (50% off Pre-Order Sale): ARe

Continue reading Slash Op by J. Johanis Cover Reveal & Giveaway!

Whippersnapper by Michael Rupured Blog Tour, Exclusive Excerpt & Giveaway!

Michael Rupured‏ - Whippersnapper BT_Banner

Hi peeps, we have Michael Rupured stopping by today with the tour for his newest release Whippersnapper, we have an exclusive excerpt and a fantastic giveaway so enjoy the post and click that giveaway link <3 ~Pixie~

Michael Rupured‏ - Whippersnapper Cover

Whippersnapper

by

Michael Rupured

Tellumo Magnamater is a fresh-out-of-college, first-year English teacher at Salt Lick County High School in Kentucky. He rides the bus to and from work, and every day he walks to the gym behind his small efficiency apartment to exercise. Perhaps because of being raised by two lesbians, Tellumo is attracted to older men. He sets his sights on fifty-something available bachelor Oliver Crumbly. But Tellumo isn’t the only resident interested in Oliver.

Peggy Tucker, a widow approaching her sixtieth birthday, is determined to marry again, and she thinks Oliver is her perfect match. Despite Tellumo and Peggy striking up a friendship at the gym, neither realizes they are interested in the same man. But the joke might be on both of them. Oliver, a retired history teacher, is the original crotchety old man who hates everything and everybody—especially young people.

Continue reading Whippersnapper by Michael Rupured Blog Tour, Exclusive Excerpt & Giveaway!

Ghost by Jackie Keswick

GhostsLGTitle: Ghost
Series: The Power of Zero, #2
Author: Jackie Keswick
Genre: Contemporary
Length: 112 pages
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (February 10, 2016)
Heat Level: Moderate
Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥5 Hearts
Blurb: Jack Horwood doesn’t do families. Or Christmas. From the time his mother sold him to her pimp to the moment he walked out on the man he loved, Christmas has always been about change and painful choices. This year seems no different. Helping Daniel and Nico recover from their imprisonment and hunting down those responsible puts Jack in a frame of mind he doesn’t want to inflict on anyone. Least of all Gareth and the tentative relationship they’ve started to rebuild.

But Gareth, for whom Christmas is all about new beginnings, won’t let Jack take the easy way out. He makes him face his ghosts instead. Even when said ghosts invade their bedroom.

When Daniel’s parents are found, Jack is determined to settle the matter without involving Daniel at all. But fate decrees otherwise, and it’s Gareth who helps him finally understand that the strongest bonds are those forged together.

Once he gets that, Jack can step up and make a decision designed to lay his ghosts to rest—for good.

ISBN: 978-1-63476-859-7

Product Link: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=7398

Reviewer: Lisa

Review: Each book in this series focus on one romantic couple and two teenagers, so I would suggest reading book one first. It makes for a more enjoyable read, as well as giving you some background into why the guys do the things they do and why they are the way they are.

Jack doesn’t really do families, because at one time his mother had sold him to her pimp. He had tried to get over it, but after rescuing Daniel and Nico it has come back to the present.

He had also been in the military, but had thought that he was the one responsible for getting Gareth killed. He still has flash backs from it. However he is moving forward the best he can. With Gareth’s help he is looking towards the future. He looks forward to helping Daniel and Nico the most.

When Daniel’s family shows up in the picture he has to find a way to stop them from wrecking another child’s life. Gareth shows him that as a family they can do more together than apart.

When I read the first book I wasn’t really sure if I was into this story as I should have been, but after reading this story I have to say I can’t wait for the next story. I felt so bad for the kids and what they had gone through, and I have to say that it will have you in tears.

Also Jack’s past is horrible and I was surprised that he had been as loving as he was. This story caught my attention from the first and kept it all the way to the end. It gave me almost everything I could want in a story and I would definitely recommend it.

I loved how the characters were fully developed and showed so much heart in them that I was amazed. It felt like I was right there with them while they were going through it all. I enjoyed it so much that I can’t wait to see what other stories this author has out.

I do hope that there is a third book in this series because I want to see where they go from here.

* I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review through https://mmgoodbookreviews.wordpress.com *

Honest Reviews for Readers and Writers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 15,195 other followers

%d bloggers like this: