Smitty’s Sheriff by Cardeno C.

Cardeno C. - Smitty's Sheriff CoverTitle: Smitty’s Sherriff

Series: Hope #3

Author:  Cardeno C.

Genre: Contemporary, May-December

Length: Novella (33K words)

Publisher: The Romance Authors LLC (17 July 2017)

Heat Level:  Explicit

Heart Rating: ♥♥♥ 3 Hearts

Blurb: Todd is too flakey. Richard is too stubborn. Together, they’re perfect. A May-December couple get a second chance at love. 

Retired soldier Richard Davis wants a stable life in a quiet town with a forever man. Becoming the sheriff of Hope, Arizona, accomplishes two of his three goals, but instead of finding a serious partner, he falls for too-young-to-be-committed and too-flakey-to-be-serious Todd Smitty. Richard won’t find the right man if he’s obsessed with the wrong one, so he walks away from Todd. 

It’s lust at first sight when Todd meets his sister’s army friend. He sets his sights on the worldly, strong, stable older man, and the more time he spends with Richard, the harder he falls. But after three years together, Richard cuts off all contact with no explanation. 

When a mutual obligation requires Todd to move into Richard’s house, he’s thrilled at the opportunity to earn a second chance. Ignoring Todd from across town was hard enough. Can Richard resist temptation under his own roof?

ASIN: B073W51Q8Y

Product Link: Cardeno C. | Amazon UK | Amazon US

Reviewer:  Prime

Review: Cardeno C’s Hope series is for those of us who don’t mind reading a sweet May-December romance. I’ve read Cardeno C in the past, but is still one of those authors I judge by the books as they come. However, in saying that, I’ve read and thoroughly enjoyed the previous books in the Hope Series. Although I have read the series out of order, I recommend reading the series in its proper order to get a full feel on the characters. Between each book we get to meet our upcoming heroes as well as catch up with our old friends. Being that I actually read the third book last, it was nice that everything fell into place nicely.

The story is about Todd Smitty and Sheriff Richard Davis, who also happens to be a retired soldier. For three years Todd and Richard had a secret relationship. Richard thought that Todd was just there for fun, which was why he didn’t want their relationship revealed. But when Todd’s sister, also Richard’s best friend, needs their help, the two are thrown back together and they need to do something they had not done before: communicate.

OK, so two things. 1) This is one of those books that seem to be based around the fact the guys didn’t communicate the first time around. It’s now up to them to get it right the second time. This kind of trope usually pisses me off, but I have to admit that I kinda just went with the flow for this book. 2) There is an element of BDSM in their relationship, I personally liked it and suited them very well. The only thing is that I thought that others, who may not like BDSM (the Dom is too controlling) or were not expecting it, may be turned from the book.

Jesse’s Diner by Cardeno C.

26800568Title: Jesse’s Diner

Series: Hope, #2

Author: Cardeno C.

Genre: Contemporary, May-December

Length: Novella (112 pages)

Publisher: The Romance Authors, LLC (29 Sept 2015)

Heat Level: Moderate

Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥ 5 Hearts

Blurb: Two men with a shared history and a mutual attraction must be honest with themselves and each other so both their dreams come true.

Quiet, unassuming Tanner Sellers spends his time running a diner in Hope, Arizona. Not particularly social, twenty-two-year-old Tanner keeps to himself and enjoys his simple life, but he longs for someone to call his own. In his most secret fantasy, that someone is sexy Steve Faus. But Steve is his friend’s father and mentor’s widower and therefore off-limits.

Despite some challenges, thirty-nine-year-old Steve Faus has had a good life. He’s extremely successful at work, has a great relationship with his college-age son, and lives in a wonderful town. Eighteen months after losing his partner, the one thing Steve lacks is someone to share his life. If Steve is honest with himself, that someone is the young man he has known and cared about for years. Steve and Tanner want one another. All they need is a little push in the right direction to make both their dreams come true.

ISBN: 9781942184331

Product Link: Cardeno C. | Amazon UK | Amazon US

Reviewer: Prime

Review: Jesse’s Diner is the second book is Cardeno C’s Hope series. I will admit that this is the only book in the series I’ve read so far, so I can definitely say that this can be read as a standalone story.

However, in saying that, after reading this book, I want more of this series. That means for the time being it’s back to book one, McFarland’s Farm.

This is a sweet story about the equally as sweet Tanner. He’s quiet and finds it difficult to be around people and so as a result he is quite lonely, too. However, when he moved to live with his grandmother as a teen, he made friends with local boy Mike. Being friends with Mike meant that in school he had “friends” but once school was over and Mike left, no one kept in touch with him.

But Tanner’s one saving grace is that one of Mike’s dads, Jesse, hired Tanner to work and when Jesse got terminal cancer he left his beloved diner to Tanner. Mike calls Tanner one day, worried about his father and asks Tanner to look in make sure that Steve is eating, looking after himself, etc.

Then there is Mike’s other father, Steve. He arrived in Hope as a young man (around Tanner’s age), pretty lost and probably a tad bit burnt out. He met Jesse, who was approaching 40 and ready to settle down with a partner and adopt a child (i.e. Mike).Now, fast forward around 20 years, Jesse is gone and Steve has thrown himself into work and has become something of a recluse when he did change his work habits.

There is a shared attraction between Steve and Tanner and now Steve is the older man in the relationship.

This is just filled with tender, sweet emotion. This is something of a slow burn, which on reflection, probably makes for a more satisfying story. If you like May-December stories, this is a great one to immerse yourself into, especially if you like the whole “best friend’s dad” type of story.

Macfarland’s Farm by Cardeno C.

Cardeno C - Macfarland's Farm CoverTitle: MacFarland’s Farm

Series: Hope #1

Author: Cardeno C

Genre: Contemporary, May-December

Length: Novella (26K words)

Publisher:  The Romance Authors LLC (10 Sept 2014)

Heat Level: Explicit

Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥ 4 Hearts

Blurb: Wealthy, attractive Lucas Reika treats life like a party, moving from bar to bar and man to man. Thumbing his nose at his restaurateur father’s demand that he earn his keep, Lucas instead seduces a valued employee in the kitchen of their flagship restaurant, earning himself an ultimatum: lose access to his father’s money or stay in the middle of nowhere with a man he has secretly lusted over from afar. 

Quiet, hard-working Jared McFarland loves his farm on the outskirts of Hope, Arizona, but he aches to have someone to come home to at the end of the day. Jared agrees to take in his longtime crush as a favor. But when Lucas invades his heart in addition to his space, Jared has to decide how much of himself he’s willing to risk and figure out if he can offer Lucas enough to keep him after his father’s punishment is over.

ASIN: 978-1-942184-00-3

Product Link: Cardeno C. | Amazon UK | Amazon US

Reviewer: Prime

Review: Cardeno C’s Hope series is for those of us who don’t mind reading a sweet May-December romance. I love a book that doesn’t make a big deal about an age gap, I mean after reading some May-December books it’s laughable when some books make a big deal out of 5 years difference. But that’s another rant for another time.

I’ve read Cardeno C in the past, but is still one of those authors I judge by the books as they come. However, in saying that, I’ve read the second book in the Hope Series, Jesse’s Diner, when it was released a couple years ago and really enjoyed it. Although I have read the series out of order, I recommend reading the series in its proper order to get a full feel on the characters. Between each book we get to meet our upcoming heroes as well as catch up with our old friends.

MacFarland’s Farm is about Jared and Lucas. Jared is a quiet guy who works hard on his land but is in real need of help, not that he is looking for any help. He’s open about his sexuality, but does not advertise and is still close friends with ex-wife and deeply respects his ex-father-in-law.

Then there is Lucas, he has been spoiled his entire life by his father. His father, who was widowed, worked hard to make a lot of money to provide for his kids. The problem is, Lucas is 24, barely finished college over 5 years and thinks that life is party. He also assumes that his father’s money is his. Things come to a head when Lucas is caught in a compromising situation. His father and sister decide that the best way for Lucas to learn responsibility is to go to the town of Hope in Arizona and work for his ex-brother-in-law.

The problem is that 1) Lucas needs a massive attitude adjustment before he can grow up, and, 2) they guys are attracted to each other.

Look, Lucas is unlikable in the beginning but Cardeno C weaves magic and Lucas becomes a relatable character. The guys work well together although I was disappointed that the chemistry wasn’t exploding off the page. This is a sweet romance and part of me just wanted there to be more!

Hunter by J.M. Dabney

J.M. Dabney - Hunter CoverTitle: Hunter

Series: Brawlers 04

Author: J.M. Dabney

Genre: Contemporary

Length: Novella (160pgs)

ISBN: 978-0-9988203-9-2

Publisher: Hostile Whispers Press (13th June 2017)

Heat Level: Moderate

Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥ 3 ½ Hearts

Reviewer: Pixie

Blurb: Welcome to Brawlers Bar…

If there was a way to destroy his life, Hunter Black could do it. He was a catastrophe waiting to happen. Survival was his only priority and having to leave his old life behind that meant a job of the legal variety. He’d found one as a bartender at Brawlers Bar and a safe place in a huge house with the rest of the bar crew who quickly became the family he’d never had. The one thing Hunter didn’t need was his old life tracking him down.

Deputy Wren Gramble hated his job and his weekend assignment of staking out a bar in the middle of nowhere waiting for drunks. Although he’d heard the homophobic and racist jokes going around about the crew and customers, he kept his head down and stuck to his job and nothing else. He despised being driven back into the closet, but he’d reached the end of the line and what he’d do if he earned another transfer he didn’t know. 

Linus Trenton was considered the normal one in his family and according to the weird ones that meant he should be punished daily. He never came out one way or another, if he found someone attractive he was attracted. His life was complicated enough having a crush on the sweet and awkward Hunter but now he had to throw Wren into the mix. Linus didn’t have time for dating or romance, most of the time he didn’t even think about having a sex life, although, Wren and Hunter were ruining his calm.

Hunter was in lust with the handsome deputy the minute the man pulled him over, but a man like that wouldn’t give him the time of day. His friend, Linus, was another matter altogether. Hunter wanted both. His bosses made it work with their man, why couldn’t he? Could Hunter prove he wasn’t as much of a screw up as he appeared or would he have to call in backup to claim his men?

Purchase Link: Amazon US | Amazon UK

Review: This book is part of a series and is best read in order.

Hunter is quiet, he doesn’t think much of himself and he is very accident prone so when Wren shows an interest in him he hasn’t got a clue what he should do. Wren has been watching Hunter from afar, he plucks up the courage to ask Hunter out and he discovers that there’s another man who has his eye on Hunter. Linus has wanted Hunter for a couple of years but has held off approaching him, now with the deputy sniffing around Hunter Linus needs a dash of Dutch courage to break the cycle of just being friends with Hunter.

This is a great story that has a dash of danger. Hunter is a really sweet character who has no confidence in himself and thinks of himself as a fuck-up. Wren seems like a stand up type of guy, he likes being a deputy but could live without some of his colleagues. Linus is the more normal one in his family, he doesn’t believe in monogamy but he’s wanted Hunter for some time he’s hidden his interest thinking that Hunter isn’t interested in him.

What we have with this story is three men who desperately need to be loved, finding each other and forming a relationship between the three of them. They all have their own worries especially with Linus’ really dangerous job (you’d think the deputy’s job would be more dangerous but you’d be sadly mistaken). Their relationship sparks quite quickly once they get over that there are three of them interested in each other, but insecurity still plagues Hunter.

Danger comes in the form of the Sheriff, who has a hard-on for the Brawlers; the Sheriff is a bigot and hates the rough Brawlers and targets them as much as he can. We get a bit of excitement when Linus is asked to work his magic and help the State police investigate the corrupt Sheriff.

This story really should be read after reading the Twirled World Ink series and the other Brawlers stories believe me, this is the first book that I’ve read by J.M. Dabney and for the first couple of chapters I felt kind of lost as there were a lot of characters from the first three books and then in later chapters from the Twirled World Ink series so I felt really lost because I didn’t have a clue who these people were of what connection they had to each other.

The actual story is interesting; we get some danger and a touch of action. We also have a great ménage romance between Hunter, Linus and Wren which is pretty hot. I must admit that there wasn’t a great deal of relationship building but it was still good. While the title is Hunter, I actually felt it was more about Linus. I mean while we get a general overview of Hunter we actually find out more about Linus and seem to spend more time in Linus’ view point than Hunter’s.

I recommend this to those who love characters who need hard loving, a great storyline and a really happy ending.

Second Chance Mate by A.J. Jarrett

A.J. Jarrett - Second Chance Mate CoverTitle: Second Chance Mate

Series: Nehalem Pack #38

Author: A.J. Jarrett

Genre: Paranormal, Fantasy

Publisher: Siren-Bookstrand, Inc. (June 9, 2017)

Length: Novella (137 Pages)

Heat Level: Low

Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥ 5 Hearts 

Blurb: Daniel Culver was devastated when his wife died. He was left alone to raise his daughter while trying to live with a broken heart. Each day is a struggle, and the fear of losing his family has Daniel pushing those he cares for away.

Archer Forum is running from his past and everything he thought was important to him. Being rich didn’t bring him happiness and being the creator of a drug that is killing shifters has him filled with guilt. He wasn’t sure that feeling would ever go away. All he wants is a fresh start, to make amends and just be happy.

Love doesn’t come around often, and it’s Archer’s turn to seize the day. Daniel is his fated mate. It’s up to him to convince Daniel that love is worth the risk before a ghost from Archer’s past steals his hopes and dreams of a happily ever after away.  

ISBN: 
978-1-64010-394-8

Product Link: Siren Publishing | Amazon UK | Amazon US

Reviewer: Lisa

Review: Each book in the Nehalem Pack collection features a new romantic couple. To enjoy the overall story arc and crossover characters, I would recommend reading the series in sequential order.

There is nothing better than a good paranormal romance with two gorgeous men involved.  They are entertaining and have just the right mix of feelings in them. There is also quite a bit of danger or excitement in it as well. This one caught my attention and kept it all the way to the very end.  I love the mixture of characters that this story and the other ones have in it.  Will always keep you entertained.
Daniel lost his wife to an accident, or should I say his mate and it had devastated him.  He was left alone to raise his cutie pie daughter and he wasn’t doing a very good job at it.  He also needed some help, which with the help of his daughter came one very sexy man.  A man with a secret that could hurt them.  Also this man seemed to think that he was his mate.

Archer was a scientist and loved what he did.  That is until what he did was end up killing shifters from the poison he made.  Running sounded good, but you can only run so far.  To top it off he has found his mate and his mate had a daughter.    

I love the way this author puts together a story that not only draws you in but keeps you entertained as well. They have a serious tone to them, but there is a bit of humor floating around. I do get a kick out of the whole thing. I can’t wait to read the next book.

Get A Grip by L.A. Witt Blog Tour, Excerpt & Giveaway!

MM Good Book Blog Tours

L.A. Witt - Get A Grip Tour Banner

Hi guys! We have L.A. Witt stopping by with her new release Get A Grip, we have a great excerpt and a fantastic giveaway, so check out the post and leave a comment to enter the giveaway! ❤ ~Pixie~

L.A. Witt - Get A Grip Cover

Get A Grip

(Bluewater Bay)
by

L.A. Witt

If a tree falls in Bluewater Bay . . . could it be fate?

A year after his divorce, Shane Andrews isn’t interested in dating—not that he has time, between three kids and a demanding job as a grip. When a windstorm knocks a tree onto one of the Wolf’s Landing soundstages, Shane’s there to help with the mess . . . and so is firefighter Aaron Tucker.

A former smoke jumper, Aaron’s an adrenaline junkie and way too restless and reckless to be relationship material. As far as he’s concerned, monogamy is for penguins, and he’d rather be alone than tied…

View original post 4,558 more words

Wehr Wolff Castle by B. Bentley Summers Blog Tour, Playlist, Excerpt & Giveaway!

MM Good Book Blog Tours

B. Bentley Summers - Wehr Wolff Castle Banner

Hi guys! We have B. Bentley Summers visiting today with his new release Wehr Wolff Castle, we have a great excerpt, B. Bentley’s playlist and a fantastic giveaway, so check out the post and click that giveaway link! ❤ ~Pixie~

B. Bentley Summers - Wehr Wolff Castle Cover

Wehr Wolff Castle

(The Wehr Wolff Chronicles 01)
by

B. Bentley Summers

During the rise of Nazi Germany, Hagen Messer joins the Royal Air Force as an American soldier who specializes in tracking. He’s attached to British commandos and given a seemingly simple mission—to find a captive and destroy a dam—but everything goes awry. Hagen’s plane crashes into Germany’s Wehr Forest and he has to use his extrasensory abilities to track the captive to nearby Wehr Wolff Castle, a secret Nazi base where vile experiments are being conducted.

Hagen and his surviving team members must sneak into the castle and devise a way to destroy the experimental labs creating…

View original post 1,416 more words

Sparkle and Shine by Julia Talbot Intro & Exclusive Excerpt!

MM Good Book Blog Tours

Hi guys! We have Julia Talbot popping in today with her upcoming release Sparkle and Shine, we have a short intro from Julia and a brilliant exclusive excerpt, so check out the post and enjoy! ❤ ~Pixie~

Julia Talbot - Sparkle & Shine Cover

Sparkle and Shine

by

Julia Talbot

All that glitters is not gold. No-frills cowboy Evan learned that lesson the hard way while married to a rodeo princess, a relationship that was all flash and no substance. At least Evan held on to his daughter, Cheyenne, and his best friend, Brooks, when the sparkle wore off and things fell apart. Life could be a lot worse.

But it could also be better… if Evan and Brooks took a step beyond friendship. Just as they start to explore their feelings, Evan’s ex-wife sticks her nose in to sabotage them. Suddenly everything is up in the air, and they have difficult choices to make about…

View original post 944 more words

Changing Lines by R.J. Scott & V.L. Locey

R.J. Scott & V.L. Locey - Changing Lines CoverTitle: Changing Lines

Author: R.J. Scott & V.L. Locey

Genre: Contemporary, Sports

Length: Novel (211pgs)

ISBN: 9781785640797

Publisher: Love Lane Books (12th July 2017)

Heat Level: Moderate

Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥ 4 ½ Hearts

Reviewer: Pixie

Blurb: The Rowe Brothers are famous hockey hotshots, but as the youngest of the trio, Tennant has always had to play against his brothers’ reputations. To get out of their shadows, and against their advice, he accepts a trade to the Harrisburg Railers, where he runs into Jared Madsen. Mads is an old family friend and his brother’s one-time teammate. Mads is Tennant’s new coach. And Mads is the sexiest thing he’s ever laid eyes on.

Jared Madsen’s hockey career was cut short by a fault in his heart, but coaching keeps him close to the game. When Ten is traded to the team, his carefully organized world is thrown into chaos. Nine years his junior and his best friend’s brother, he knows Ten is strictly off-limits, but as soon as he sees Ten’s moves, on and off the ice, he knows that his heart could get him into trouble again.

Can Tennant show Jared that age is just a number, and that love is all that matters?

Purchase Links: Amazon US | Amazon UK 

Review: Tennant is happy moving to the Harrisburg Railers even if his older brothers’ think it’s a stupid move, it’s his chance to prove that he’s just as good as anyone else and he can make it on his own. Mads is one of the coaches for the Harrisburg Railers and seeing Ten again knocks him for six, Ten isn’t the little boy he used to know but starting a relationship with the stunning man is out of the question… not least because he’s friends with Ten’s older brother.

This is a fantastic start to a new series for both R.J. Scott and V.L. Locey. I have to admit that sport’s isn’t my favourite genre, but there’s something about Ice Hockey that just rocks.

Ten is a great character who has his life spread out before him and he plans on grabbing on to what he wants with both hands. Mads has settled into coaching after his Ice Hockey days were over, he’s got a great teenage son and an interfering infuriating ex’s father to contend with. Throw Ten and Mads together and we get a passionate story that has a touch of angst, lots of roaring arguments, some excellent skating and a great storyline.

While both Ten and Mads are brilliant characters the supporting characters are just as good, from Ten’s brothers to the Harrisburg Railers team they are an interesting mix and fully entertaining. I have a secret hope that Stan will one day get a story because that Russian goalie is just one excellent character!

I recommend this to those who love sports stories, love a dash of angst, who adore characters with explosive temperaments, and who love watching two men overcoming fears and embracing their love for each other.

Misdemeanor by C.F. White

C.F. White - Misdemeanor CoverTitle: Misdemeanor

Series: Responsible Adult 01

Author: C.F. White

Genre: Contemporary

Length: Novel (226pgs)

ISBN: 978-1-78651-566-7

Publisher: Pride Publishing (4th July 2017)

Heat Level: Low

Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥ 4 ½ Hearts

Reviewer: Pixie

Blurb: Life isn’t always responsible

After his mother tragically dies and his deadbeat father goes off the rails, nineteen-year-old Micky is left to care for his disabled little brother, Flynn.

Juggling college, a dead-end job and Flynn’s special needs means Micky has to put his bad-boy past behind him and be the responsible adult to keep his brother out of care. He doesn’t have time for anything else in his life.

Until he meets Dan…

Purchase Link: Pride Publishing | Amazon UKAmazon US 

Review: Micky has had a difficult life but now at nineteen he has begun to turn his life around, he’s just got a half decent job, he’s studying for his exam re-takes and he’s desperate to keep his little brother Flynn out of care. He hasn’t got time for relationships and then he meets his new manager Dan.

This is a wonderful story that shows a more true to life living than is usually seen in books. Micky is a guy who has been handed a crappy life, he’s determined to turn it around though for his little brother but life keeps throwing up obstacles that threaten to destroy everything he is working towards. Dan has had a pretty easy life and although he’s working a job that he never thought would be permanent he’s pretty happy except for the lack of a boyfriend.

When Micky and Dan get together, it isn’t easy for either of them. Micky can’t just throw himself into a relationship, not just because he’s in the closet, but also because he’s worried about Flynn. Flynn is an absolute darling, he has Williams syndrome and you just want to snatch him up and snuggle him to death for his sweetness. Dan has his own small demons from previous relationship break-ups so he feels like he’s on rocky ground especially when Micky pushes him away.

The characters in this story are brilliant written, they jump off the page with their vitality and I’m not just talking about Micky, Dan and Flynn, I mean all the characters. They have an air of realness to them, I know that I myself was reminded by some of the characters to friends I’ve had over the years. They really do remind me a lot of my teenage year’s friends… and I now find that really creepy LOL.

This storyline is an amazing one; it brings the simple mundane life to the forefront and shows the struggles against a system and snobbery by a young man just trying to improve his lot in life for his younger brother. I dare anyone not to fall in love with Flynn, to admire Micky, and to hope that Dan can continue to wear Micky’s walls away.

My only niggle at this story was the ending, the abrupt way it cut off on a cliff-hanger had me gritting my teeth and cursing the author out… come on did you have to end it just there?

Anyway, I recommend this story to those who love more lower class real life stories, who adore young children who are cherubs, who want to see two young men find each other and the beginnings of love, and who want a story that has you hooked from the first couple of pages.

Damien by Catherine Lievens

Catherine Lievens - Damien CoverTitle: Damien

Series: Council Enforcers #7

Author: Catherine Lievens

Genre: Paranormal, Fantasy

Publisher: eXtasy Books (June 23, 2017)

Length: Novella (118 Pages)

Heat Level: Low

Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥ 5 Hearts

Blurb: Sometimes you have to admit you were wrong to get the happiness that’s right in front of you.

Damien is an enforcer, and he loves his job. He loves helping people who don’t have anyone else on their side, and he loves his team like a family. There’s something missing in his life, though, and he knows what it is. A lot of his friends are finding their mates, yet he’s still single.

Jake is back in Gillham, hoping to talk some sense into his father. Jake still thinks Sei is too young to be mated with an eighty-six-year-old bear shifter, but his dad doesn’t listen, no matter how many times Jake tries to tell him that.

When Damien and Jake meet, Damien’s age is a problem for Jake from the very beginning. There are only twenty years between them, which isn’t a lot for shifters, but Jake can’t see beyond it and beyond how fragile Damien looks. So he leaves.

Damien accepts a job as a bodyguard in the hope he’ll start forgetting Jake. They’re in the same city, though, and when Jake tentatively reaches out to him, Damien will have to choose whether he wants to give his mate a second chance or not. To complicate things, someone is after Hudson, the man Damien is protecting and who also is a friend of Jake’s family.

Will Damien give Jake another chance? Or will something happen to separate them before they can get over their problems?

ISBN: 978-1-4874-1044-5

Product Link: eXtasy Books | Amazon UK | Amazon US

Reviewer: Lisa

Review: Each book in the Council Enforcer’s collection features a new romantic couple. To enjoy the overall story arc and crossover characters, I would recommend reading the series in sequential order.

There is nothing better than a good paranormal romance with two gorgeous men involved.  They are entertaining and have just the right mix of feelings in them. There is also quite a bit of danger or excitement in it as well. This one caught my attention and kept it all the way to the very end.  I love the mixture of characters that this story and the other ones have in it.  Will always keep you entertained.

Daniel lost his wife to an accident, or should I say his mate and it had pretty much destroyed him.  He was left alone to raise his cutie pie daughter and he wasn’t doing a very good job at it.  He also needed some help, which with the help of his daughter came one very sexy man.  A man with a secret that could hurt them.  Also this man seemed to think that he was his mate.

Archer was a scientist and loved what he did.  That is until what he did was end up killing shifters from the poison he made.  Running sounded good, but you can only run so far.  To top it off he has found his mate and his mate had a daughter.

I love the way this author puts together a story that not only draws you in but keeps you entertained as well. They have a serious tone to them, but there is  a bit of humor floating around. I do get a kick out of the whole thing. I can’t wait to read the next book.

Backstroking with a Tiger Shark by Charlie Richards

Charlie Richards - Backstroking With The Tiger Shark CoverTitle: Backstroking with a Tiger Shark

Series: Beneath Aquatica’s Waves #1

Author: Charlie Richards

Genre: Paranormal, Fantasy

Publisher: eXtasy Books (July 14, 2017)

Length: Novella (104 Pages)

Heat Level: Low

Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥ 5 Hearts

Blurb: Tortelion, Tort to his friends, is a tiger shark shifter. He spends his workdays awing human audiences with a few aquatic parlor tricks. To him, it’s a pretty good gig. Plus, the people who come to World of Aquatica learn about his kind…well, tiger sharks of the non-shifter variety, anyway. A day that starts the same as any other suddenly takes a turn for the better when a mishap sends two humans tumbling into his tank. Blood in the water tells Tort that one of them is his mate. Joining those taken to the doc’s office as a witness, Tort learns his mate is Kane Cornshun, a busy human graphic designer only visiting the area to see his sister and her kids for a few days. Tort has very little time to woo his unsuspecting mate. Can he convince Kane to give up his life and join him at Aquatica? 

ISBN: 978-1-4874-1419-1

Product Link: eXtasy Books | Amazon UK  | Amazon US

Reviewer: Lisa

Review:  I came across Charlie Richards some time ago when she wrote her first book in the Wolves of Stone Ridge series.  From the first book I was captivated and new that she would be a favorite of mine.  So you can imagine what I felt when I saw that she had this brand new series just coming out.  You guessed it, I had to run and grab it.

She has always written stories that don’t focus on one type of paranormal and for that alone she would be an author that I would follow.  I never figured a tiger shark as a shifter, but let’s just say Tort was one of a kind.  It caught my attention from the moment I started reading and definitely kept it all the way to the end.

Tort is a tiger shark shifter and works at the World of Aquatica Park, which is a bit like sea world I suppose.  He swims around and gives the audience a show.  He just hadn’t expected for a man to fall into his pool with a child.  Nor did he expect that man to be his mate.

Kane, his sister and her kids decided to spend the day at the World of Aquatica celebrating his nephew’s birthday.  Sounds like fun that is until he falls into the tiger sharks pool with a bleeding head.  Things are going to get exciting, but you must read the book.

It has a serious tone to it but there is quite a bit of humor that mixes with it.  This is one of those stories that will be read more than once.  I enjoyed reading it and can’t wait for the next book to come out.

A Wolf In PI’s Clothing by Sydney Presley

Sydney Presley - Wolf In PI's Clothing CoverTitle: A Wolf in PI’s Clothing

Author: Sydney Presley

Genre: Paranormal, Futuristic, Sci-Fi

Publisher: Pride Publishing (July 25, 2017)

Length: Novella (85 Pages)

Heat Level: Low

Heart Rating: ♥♥♥ 2 ½ Hearts 

Blurb: Being a P.I. isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. Sometimes it’s downright scary—and alien.

Ledger is a P.I. with a difference—he’s a wolf shifter and uses his animal to help him on cases. His next case, though, isn’t something he expected. His best friend, Jared, the man he’s secretly loved since they were younger, has a bit of a problem. Someone is stalking him, and when she turns up at Ledger’s place and stares at them through the window, Ledger realizes things aren’t quite as simple as he’d first thought. She’s bonkers, with wild red hair and staring green eyes, and she needs dealing with—fast.

Jared is a drag queen, famous on the stage after he tried his hand at acting and won. He’s a star, loved by all, so to have a stalker isn’t something he can handle alone. Ledger promises to follow Jared so he can catch the stalker in the act, but things take a weird turn. After the stalker leaves a message that Ledger and Jared must meet her at a local café, the plot thickens to pea-soup viscosity. Someone called The Gecko is after Jared, and The Gecko is used to people doing exactly as he says…

But The Gecko isn’t human, and although Ledger has been obsessed with UFOs and alien life forms since he was a kid, he never thought he’d be meeting otherworldly creatures in real life. The men have no choice—they have to meet The Gecko. And isn’t that the strangest of things to be doing, fraternizing with an alien? Strange or not, Ledger and Jared have to obey—or forfeit their lives.

But Ledger doesn’t plan on anyone dying, especially not them…

ISBN: 978-1-78651-578-0

Product Link: Pride Publishing | Amazon UK |  Amazon US

Reviewer: Lisa

Review:  Every once in a while you come across a story that will just leave you brain dead.  You have no clue what you just read nor do you want to know.  

Ledger is a private eye who is also a wolf shifter.  He has the hots for one sexy man, Jared.  Jared is a famous drag queen who has a very freaky woman stalking his ass.  The thing is that freaky woman is an alien and works for another freaky alien.  Things between the two men do start to heat up though.

Now this story did have potential but it failed quite nicely.  You start to get this story and it just seems to go sideways.  In my opinion it just seemed like a lot of filler to make words.  It would have been a cute story had there actually been a true story to read.  I can’t say that I would love to read another story by this author, because if they follow this same line, then the answer would be nope. 

I hate to admit it but this book was not my idea of fun.  Too bad because it could have been amazing.

Clint by Lynn Hagen

Lynn Hagen - Clint CoverTitle: Clint

Series: Grizzly Ridge 01

Author: Lynn Hagen

Genre: Paranormal, shape-shifters, M/MPreg

Length: Novella (100pgs)

Publisher: Siren-Bookstrand Inc.

Heat Level: Moderate

Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥ 4 Hearts

Blurb: The Rising men are pure myth, or so Dane thinks. Everyone in the town of Grizzly Ridge whispers about how either the Rising men can control the wild bears that roam the mountains, or that they are the wild bears themselves.

On his way home from work one night, a stranger nearly hits Dane on the backroad. When the guy gets out of his truck, Dane is kidnapped and taken high into the mountains.

Clint grew up in the mountains, his bear clan hidden from humans. Out on an errand one night, Clint decides to take a shortcut and nearly runs a man over. Pissed at the guy’s carelessness, he gets out and discovers the human is his mate. His bear takes over and Clint bites him, starting the process that will enable Dane to carry his child.

But Clint’s life is filled with dangers, and the biggest danger of all is his father.

ISBN: 9781640104006 

Product Link: http://www.bookstrand.com/book/clint

Reviewer: Veronica

Review: Dane is living in a small town and hears all the tales about the occupants of the mountains, especially the Rising men, and he thinks that there’re just myths. One night after work, Dane is walking home and is nearly hit by a driver. When the person gets out of the truck and asks him if he’s ok, within a blink of the eye, the guy bites Dane and takes him up further into the mountains.

Clint is on his way home when he finds his mate on the side of the road. With one whiff of his scent, he bites him and takes him to his home. Clint is the eldest of his siblings and he’s ecstatic yet scared that he found his mate. Dane sees himself as imperfect, but all Clint sees is a handsome man. There are dangers in the mountains, and the biggest one is his father, when he decides that he wants Clint’s mate. Clint will go to any length to make sure that never happens, even if he has to kill his own father.

I love this author’s work and would recommend to anyone interested in reading about paranormals.

Peep Show by Clare London Release Blast, Excerpt & Giveaway!

MM Good Book Blog Tours

Clare London - Peep Show RB Banner

Hi peeps! We have Clare London visiting today with her new re-release Peepshow, we have a great excerpt and a fantastic $10 Amazon GC giveaway, so check out the post and click that giveaway link! ❤ ~Pixie~

Clare London - Peepshow Cover

Peepshow

(Perchance to Dream 10 / London Lads 04)
by

Clare London

Ever wanted to spy secretly on other people’s lives?

Ken doesn’t have a choice: his student summer job is manning the CCTV screens for the new shopping centre. But instead of spotting criminals or vandals, he becomes fascinated by a cute waiter from the local bistro who sneaks out to the backyard for his break—and plays sexy to the camera.

Is he an old friend, or just an anonymous exhibitionist? Should Ken be excited by this naughty peepshow, or will people think he’s behaving like a voyeuristic pervert? Poor Ken’s confused and thrilled in turn. It’s like living in one…

View original post 2,587 more words

Honest Reviews for Readers and Writers

%d bloggers like this: