Broken Play by Samantha Kane

9781101883600Title: Broken Play
Series: Birmingham Rebels, #1
Author: Samantha Kane
Genre: MMF Ménage/ Contemporary
Length: Novel (235 pages)
Publisher: Loveswept, Penguin Random House (September 1st, 2015
Heat Level: Explicit
Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥5 Hearts
Blurb: Perfect for fans of Shayla Black and Lexi Blake, the deeply sensual new Birmingham Rebels series introduces an unforgettable team of chiseled football gods—and the daring, provocative games they play behind closed doors.

Birmingham Rebels offensive linemen Beau Perez and Cass Zielinski are inseparable, on and off the field. Cass, the captain with the cowboy swagger, is a loose cannon. Beau, the veteran tight end, is cool under pressure. And ever since they were caught on tape in a steamy threesome, their exploits have fueled more than a few tabloid headlines—and naughty fantasies.

Marian Treadwell knows all about the video. And now that she’s the Rebels’ new assistant offensive coach, she can’t look at Beau and Cass without picturing their hard, naked bodies—with her pressed in between. Marian would like nothing more than to indulge those impulses, but she knows better than to get too close to her players, a bunch of adrenaline-fueled alpha males who don’t always follow the rules.

Just the thought of sharing the gorgeous yet guarded Marian drives Cass wild. At first, Beau isn’t sure she’s right for them . . . and lately, all he desires is a little alone time with Cass to explore their new intimacy. But it’s only a matter of time before Cass breaks through both of their defenses. Because when seduction is the game plan, he always plays to win.

Broken Play is intended for mature audiences.

ISBN: 9781101883600

Product Link: http://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/books/249829/broken-play-by-samantha-kane/#

Reviewer: Portia

Review: Let me start by saying, that there are very writers who can float between genres with the ease of Samantha Kane. If truth be told, this author of the bestselling series, Brothers in Arms, was one of the main reasons I even considered giving MM romance a shot. She creates alpha type men and strong female characters that complement one another. And love is always the underpinning of some sizzling sheet time.

With this new series, Ms. Kane introduces the reader to the Birmingham Rebels, The “red-headed stepchild of the NFL. Led by MC Cass Zielinski, the team and their coaches know that this is the last stop before retirement. Hence, they have something to prove.

Now, most of this title involves Cass and Beau trying to get into Marion’s pants. The sexual tension is palatable by the time they finally do anything. But, there are a couple of subplots that really add to the story line and set up the next book in the series, Calling the Play (due out in December).

If you like a nice slow burn to your romance, really big men who need a little shove to get in touch with their feeling, and a woman who learns that kink has a time and a place, you really need to check out Broken Play.

And if you just want to check out one of the most decadent scenes where 5 horny football players pleasure their female assistant coach…and each other, the price of the book is worth just that scene alone.

Fans of Opal Carew, Mari Carr and Jayne Rylon will really enjoy the contemporary offerings of Samantha Kane.
* I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review through https://mmgoodbookreviews.wordpress.com *

Taken by the Alpha Dragon by Marcy Jacks

takenbythealphadragonsTitle: Taken By the Alpha Dragon
Series: Mating Season, #1
Author: Marcy Jacks
Genre: Fantasy/ Multiple Partners/ Paranormal /Shape-shifter
Length: Novella (114 pages)
Publisher: Siren-BookStrand, Inc. (August 22, 2015)
Heat Level: Explicit
Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥4 ½ Hearts
Blurb: Jason Chase is in trouble. He was sold to the lottery by his own parents, and not the sort of lottery he wants to win, the sort where humans are handed over to dragons during mating season. If Jason tries to run, he will be branded a thief and thrown into prison, which, despite his best efforts, might actually happen.

Warrior dragons Draco and Phobos have been searching for their third for over fifty years. They can smell him in the building, and that smell is creating a lust so heavy they can hardly stand it. After tracking him down and finding him in a cell, they’re furious.

They nearly lost their third because of a screw up, and now their new mission is to fight off the heat inside of them long enough to convince Jason that they are there to protect him, and they will not allow anyone to hurt him so long as they are around.

ISBN: 9781632596734

Product Link: http://www.bookstrand.com/taken-by-the-alpha-dragons

Reviewer: Shorty

Review: This is the first book in the Mating Season series.

Jason’s name was put into the lottery, by his parents, without his consent then forced to go where he meets Phobos and Draco his mate. He is afraid at first, because of the horror stories he’s heard about it.

I personally did not like Malloy, a lawyer who seemed to have a chip on his shoulder and had it out for Jason. The man gave me the creeps and I was glad someone put him in his place, so to speak. I really enjoyed this entire book, though some scenes were drawn out and others were too short.

There was some hot sex between Draco, Phobos and Jason that added spice to a well written story.

Looking forward to seeing what happens in the next book after the cliffhanger at the end of this one.

* I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review through https://mmgoodbookreviews.wordpress.com *

A Few Bad Men by James Cox

afewbadmen1l__15429.1438816229.300.450Title: A Few Bad Men
Series: Outlaw MC, #7
Author: James Cox
Genre: Futuristic/ Multiple Partners/ May/December/ MC Romance
Length: Novella (81 pages)
Publisher: Evernight Publishing (August 6, 2015)
Heat Level: Explicit
Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥5Hearts
Blurb: What if bad guys ruled the world and the good guys were the outlaws?

The war on Mars is almost over. A small band of peacekeepers are hiding from the Outlaw MC. Grim has hidden his past from the club since he joined. He punishes himself for his old sins—no relationships, no friends, nothing but taking the government down. Then he meets a member’s brother.

Valentine just escaped from the prison on Earth. He’s too young for Grim but that doesn’t stop the pull between them. As the club hunts down the last of the peacekeepers, Grim and Valentine give in to their passion. It isn’t until after that the truth about Grim’s past comes out.

Can lies be forgiven as the peace of Mars is shattered?

Be Warned: m/m sex, public exhibition, multiple partners

ISBN: 978-1-77233-453-1

Product Link: http://www.evernightpublishing.com/a-few-bad-men-by-james-cox/

Reviewer: Shorty

Review: This is the seventh book in the Outlaw MC series. It’s a fantastic addition to the series as we learn about Valentine, Romeo’s brother, and Grim. Valentine has been in prison on earth since he was 16 years old. He has learned the hard way not to trust anyone until he meets Grim.

Grim is an Outlaw MC who used to be on the other side of the law. He feels guilty about those years but in my opinion he couldn’t help what others did. But he most definitely should have told Valentine who he was. These two set the pages on fire with their intensity.

This book starts out with a nail-biting scene and continues the same pace throughout the entire story. There is no shortage of action packed scenes with edge of your seat fight scenes not to mention a lot of flirting and sexy action between Grim and Valentine.

My heart broke during the telling of what had happened to Liam. I so wanted to do physical harm to those guards.

I loved the entire book and can’t wait to see what else happens in this series as Outlaw prepares to go get Liam from prison.

Highly recommended.

* I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review through https://mmgoodbookreviews.wordpress.com *

Broken Bones by Deja Black

o-broken-bonesTitle: Broken Bones
Series: N/A
Author: Deja Black
Genre: Mystery & Suspense / Paranormal
Length: Novel (200 pages)
Publisher: DSP Publications (August 4, 2015)
Heat Level: Moderate
Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥4 ½ Hearts
Blurb: Dan Tolliver, the adopted son of alpha pack leader Jeremiah Tolliver, has suffered his last moment of abuse by his lover Keith Mulligan and finds himself in the hospital. There he meets dark and sharp-tongued Dr. Aiden Kavanaugh, who believes Dan needs some of his straightforward kind of medicine. Still, there is something different about the doctor.

Aiden is a sandman, a weaver of dreams, and has been on earth far longer than even he knows. He’s at the end of his time, ready to transition, and needs a human mate to keep him connected to the world he’s grown to love. Only he hasn’t found a special person who makes him want to stay. He doesn’t despair, because not every sandman has the chance to choose, but he knows if he doesn’t find a partner, he will soon lose his physical form and exist only in dreams.

When Aiden realizes Keith is a far greater monster than Dan has any idea, they grow and work together using the support of the pack—and Dan’s inner strength—to overcome impossible odds.

ISBN: 978-1-63476-063-8

Product Link: https://www.dsppublications.com/books/broken-bones-by-deja-black-120-b

Reviewer: Shorty

Review: Dan is human and a coimeádaí. He has been horribly abused by his boyfriend Keith and knows he has to get away from him somehow before Keith kills him. What he doesn’t expect is to meet another who intrigues him as much as Dr. Aiden does. But Aiden has two secrets one of which might destroy them.

I felt so bad for Dan battling against the memories of the brutality that was inflicted on him by a man who supposedly loved him. I figured something was up with Keith but I did not expect as to what that was. I was pleasantly surprised as to the paranormal aspect of the story as I do not recall reading a story about the sandman so it intrigued me greatly.

Aiden seemed strong and determined yet showed a vulnerable side as well. I thought it was great that Aiden trusted Dan but I was also pissed that he let Dan suffer when he could have stopped it from the beginning. But he did seem to care a great deal about Dan once he realized what he once denied.

The relationship between Dan and Aiden seemed weird at first until they talked to one another. Aiden seemed to be constantly pushing Dan away while Dan was biding his time and reeling Aiden in. I loved both their characters.

Well written this book slowly draws the reader into a world where there are monsters from nightmares hell-bent on taking what they want no matter the cost and the individuals who will stop them from destroying their loved ones.

* I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review through https://mmgoodbookreviews.wordpress.com *

In a Trance by Alexander Thomas

d6e3030697c730f4b7561af599b50d73a9b7fab2Title: In A Trance
Series: N/A
Author: Alexander Thomas
Genre: Gay Erotica
Length: Short (23 pages)
Publisher: Alexander Thomas (December 7th, 2014)
Heat Level: Explicit
Heart Rating: ♥♥1.5 Hearts
Blurb: An unfriendly and rather apathetic psychologist spends an ordinary night at a bar, until he spots his prey. Another man is there, obviously riddled with his own problems and vulnerable enough for him to take advantage of. An affair of lust forms, with a mixture of desire and manipulation to get what they both want; satisfaction.

ISBN: 9781310249877

Product Link: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/499719

Reviewer: Lisa

Review: When I saw the title to this story I thought that it would be a winner. Although I wasn’t sure about the cover for the story. It just comes off as a bit off to me. I tried to find the blurb to this story, but could not locate it. So I went on a whim and choose it. It is by an author that I have not heard of, nor have I read so I was taking a chance.

It is pretty much placed in a bar or club. Richard offers to help those who come in, seeing as he is a therapist. He uses the hypnotic suggestion to help. They only have to rent a hotel room, relax and let it go. This is how he meets Josh. Josh had lost his girlfriend and his job. So he wasn’t looking for more than a drink. Then Richard offers to help. I don’t think he was expecting nor wanting Richard’s true type of help. It changes everything for him.

The way Richard helps, to me is nothing more than rape. Just like giving someone the date rape pill, but Richard’s uses hypnosis. I was disappointed in this story and definitely would not read it again. It has a lot of heat to it, but there is no true story or plot. It lacks true depth to make it a good story. I do not like the idea of screwing with someone at all so that brought it down in all points.

I was disappointed in the whole book.

* I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review through https://mmgoodbookreviews.wordpress.com * 

Outcast Cowboys by Sarah Masters

91yMhN+Sw4L._SL1500_Title: Outcast Cowboys
Series: What’s His Passion?
Author: Sarah Masters
Genre: Contemporary Western
Length: Novel (202 Pages)
Publisher: Pride Publishing (August 18 2015)
Heat Level: Explicit
Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥ 4 Hearts
Blurb: You can run but you can’t hide. Problems have a habit of following you, even if it’s only inside your head.

Ross decides to start a new life away from the grim belly of London, England, unable to stomach being a cop any longer. He tells himself he’s moving miles away to find himself a bed partner, but he’s lying. He has to. Facing up to the real reason he’s leaving isn’t something he can handle.

His last undercover job proved too much—his life was at risk—and if he stays in London he’ll likely end up dead. Nightmares plague him, his subconscious unable to switch the past off. So he moves to a ranch in America, thinking the new surroundings and different lifestyle will help him to heal—and to forget. What he soon realizes is he’s jumping from the frying pan into the fire…

Joe’s passion—that of caring for the horses—is the only thing that keeps him sane. He’s a surly man, and for good reason—a reason he hasn’t told a soul. Folks think he’s mean and unapproachable and suspect him of committing murder. More than once. Locals assume that Joe got let off the hook. Nothing could be further from the truth, but Joe lets people think what they will. He’s done with their speculation and sly looks.

When Ross and Joe meet, tension is rife. The air between them prickles with animosity as well as sexual tension. Both have a past they can’t get over. Both have skeletons in their closets they wish would turn to dust. And both have to make a decision.

Can they cast their fears aside and trust each other, or have the terrors they’ve experienced ruined them for love?

Reader Advisory: This book contains a scene of remembered non-consensual sex in a character’s past.

ISBN: 978-1-78430-662-5

Product Link: https://www.pride-publishing.com/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=4032

Reviewer: Cat

Review: Take two gay men hiding secrets…one from England showing up on a secluded ranch in the middle of nowhere and the other that seems trapped there and there is sure to be fireworks.

But will the secrets buried on the ranch keep them apart?

Ross finally is free for his job as an undercover cop in England. His last mission was too close to killing him and after being outed he decides to come to America and start a new life. Working on a Ranch with hot cowboys should be safer than dealing undercover with drug dealers…or at least that is what he thought.

I thought this was a very intriguing story. There is a lot of mystery and for the first half of the book or more I kept wondering who the real culprit really was actually I thought there would be a bit more twists than what there really were.

About halfway it took a different turn form the mystery and became more pure romance between Joe and Ross building a new life and Ross coming to terms with his past nightmares. I will say I did like the way the author tied up the loose ends at the end.

The story is well written and I was so hooked I read it in one setting.

If you like cowboys, undercover cops, suspense, a good love story and some pretty hot man-sex this is for you!


* I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review through https://mmgoodbookreviews.wordpress.com *

Play if Forward by Frederick Smith

BSB-PlayForwardTitle: Play it Forward
Series: N/A
Author: Frederick Smith
Genre: Contemporary
Length: Novel (240 pages)
Publisher: Bold Strokes Book (20 Jan 2015)
Heat Level: Explicit
Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥4Hearts
Blurb: Dirty little secrets can lead to public scandals and unexpected love affairs…

Malcolm Campbell is the director of a south Los Angeles organization focused on mentoring gay youth, and his nineteen-year-old nephew, Blake, is being sent to stay with him for the summer. Malcolm has always been a community and family role model everyone looks up to. But he also has a secret he never knew he had… until it pops up on the Internet.

Across town, in the closed and closeted world of Black Hollywood celebrity, pro-basketball player Tyrell Kincaid and R&B singer Tommie Jordan are public heroes in a very private relationship. After a series of indiscretions and slipups, the relationship becomes fodder for speculation and outing by the paparazzi and nationally-known gossip reporter Livonia Birmingham.

Despite living in two different worlds in L.A., Malcolm, Blake, Tommie, and Tyrell find themselves in the same arena, where they’ll have to risk it all to protect their hearts and their destiny.

ISBN: 9781626392939e

Product Link: http://www.boldstrokesbooks.com/9781626392939e.html

Reviewer: Prime

Review: This is the first book I’ve read by Frederick Smith and since I enjoyed this wild ride into the world of celebrity, I really do want to read more from the author!

The story is about Malcolm, some years ago he changed his career from banker to become the director of an organisation that focuses on helping the young gay men of LA, called LADs (well, his little part of LA anyway).

It is through LADs that he meets pro-basket baller Tyrell who probably isn’t as closeted as we’d expect. Tyrell is with the deeply closeted rapper Tommie Jordan because not only is it a no-no for a rapper to be gay, it is especially a big no-no for a black rapper to be gay. Meeting Tyrell linked with a totally unrelated personal disaster snowballs into a very complicated life for Malcolm which puts his career in jeopardy.

Add into the mix that his 19-year-old nephew has been sent down to LA to live with him because Malcolm’s sister has deemed Blake too unruly (she’s a bit of a drama queen).

The fact that Tyrell is a pro-basketball player and there is also Tommie, a rapper, really makes you – well, it made me wonder anyway, just how many celebrities feel that they need to hide their sexuality from the public. I’m not sure if this was the intention of the author but this book more so than others really made me think about it, especially when you see Tommie’s manager pulling the strings in the background on more than one occasion. I think this was more a random thought on my part.

I love the culture of Black Hollywood and I love the melodrama surrounding everything that seems to be happening in Malcolm’s life. Malcolm’s attraction to Tyrell sometimes seemed forbidden and understated but at the same time it was both sweet and hot (sounds like I’m describing food, lol).

The pace is quite quick so you’ll not get a chance to get bored at all. The characters are complex and there are a number of them that play a major role in Malcolm’s life. To me this is the type of book that appeals to everyone, though I think it would particularly go down well with those who like the world of celebrity and LA.

* I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review through https://mmgoodbookreviews.wordpress.com *

The Hush-Hush Crush by Liberty Lace

HushHushCrush_CoverTitle: The Hush-Hush Crush
Series: N/A
Author: Liberty Lace
Genre: Contemporary/ Taboo (Twincest)
Length: Novella (43 pages)
Publisher: Wilde City Press (August 11th, 2015)
Heat Level: Moderate
Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥4 Hearts
Blurb: Scott Tate has a problem. When his brother Sawyer calls and asks to crash at Scott’s place for a few days, Scott has no idea that the past would surface so quickly. But a hush-hush crush this strong cannot be concealed for long.

Now, after spending most of his life pushing Sawyer away, Scott is faced with the toughest decision of his life!

(Previously released as When a Twin Peeks)

ISBN: 978-1-925313-41-3

Product Link: http://www.wildecity.com/books/gay-romance/when-a-twin-peeks/#.VeHTXPlViko

Reviewer: Tams

Review: Twin brothers Scott and Sawyer were close when they were younger. But as Scott grew up and realized his feelings for his brother were far deeper than the acceptable norm of a bond between twins, he started to distance himself.

When Sawyer comes to visit and camps out on Scott’s couch, the two are forced to deal with secrets they’ve kept buried for years.

This is a short, steamy read that is sure to cause a spike in your blood pressure. The content is “taboo” so if you have an issue with twincest, you might want to skip this naughty little read.

I quite liked it. There was a bit of drama, secrets being revealed, uncertainty with how those secrets will be perceived and even a quick pulse pounding moment of danger.

If you are a fan of Mercy Celeste or Max Voss then you’ll definitely want to read this one. A delicious little snack I’ll keep on my kindle to re-visit every now and again.

* I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review through https://mmgoodbookreviews.wordpress.com *

The Devil’s Playground by Parker Williams

ca94f64078cd6b237d3dd634d3129c68e152abc3Title: Devil’s Playground
Series: Four of Clubs 03/
Pulp Friction 2015: Altered States, #11
Author: Parker Williams
Genre: Paranormal
Length: Novella (61 pages)
Publisher: Parker Williams (July 13 2015)
Heat Level: Low
Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥ 5 Hearts
Blurb: They say the course of true love never runs smooth, and Detective Ben Nelson is learning the truth of that adage in a big way. Two months ago, his lover Artie Middleton was tortured by demons determined to claim the psychic’s special gifts for their own.

Now the same friends who helped Ben with the rescue are making a strong case that something about Artie isn’t right. When Artie verbally attacks his best friend, Ben is forced to acknowledge the unbreakable barriers surrounding Artie’s mind.

Searching for someone with the right gifts to help, Ben encounters a woman who insists there’s only one way—and one person—who stands a chance at saving Artie. What Ben finds when he goes on his solo rescue mission may very well mean both of their deaths, as they confront the evil that has made Artie’s mind the Devil’s playground.

ISBN: 978194841235

Product Link: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-thedevil039splayground-1851539-148.html

Reviewer: Cat

Review  You definitely need to read the series in order and I suggest the entire collection or you may feel a bit lost about some of these characters.

This story picks up where the last left off with Ben looking for Artie. Artie is a physic with special powers and though he is home he seems lost and withdrawn. Ben is determined to do whatever it takes to brig Artie back and keep him safe.

This story is so good that you can’t put it down and want more when you are done. There is so much action it keeps you flipping the page and sitting on pins and needles! I have no nails left!

Ben and Arties characters just get more and more complex as we go and their love is to die for!

If you like action packed series, collaborations, complex characters, vampires, demons, shifters, ghost dogs, you name it if its supernatural or paranormal it’s probably here! Plus it’s an awesome romance!

* I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review through https://mmgoodbookreviews.wordpress.com *

Ben’s Wolf Surprise by Bronwyn Heeley

4865benswolfsurprise510w-430x645Title: Ben’s Wolf Surprise
Series: Second Pack of Cameron, #1
Author: Bronwyn Heeley
Genre: Paranormal/ Werewolves
Length: Novella (49 Pages)
Publisher: Extasy Books (September 1, 2015)
Heat Level: Moderate
Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥3.5 Hearts
Blurb: There’s something unsettling in having to tell a one-night stand that you’re pregnant with his child. When you yourself are a man, it gets…let’s call it complicated.

ISBN: 978-1-4874-0450-5

Product Link: http://www.extasybooks.com/Ben-‘-s-Wolf-Surprise/

Reviewer: Lisa

Review: I came across Bronwyn’s books a few months ago and I get a kick out of them. This one is short, sweet and damn funny. It is the first book in the series and I must say it was a surprise. I would have liked it better had it been longer, with more details and feelings into it. It came off as a story that was rushed.

Ben and Shad had taken a liking to each other. Ben thought it was a one night stand, that is until he started getting sick. What a kicker for them, he is pregnant.

The start of the book doesn’t lead into the story, just has them getting all bothered, and then straight to the hotness. Then the next thing you know they get the shock of their lives. It just needs to be more detailed, with a bit more suspense, not insta love but having a bit of a time at first.

I hope the second book is longer and has a bit more meat to it. Other than those issues, I had a blast reading it. It was just over too quick to get more than a taste.

* I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review through https://mmgoodbookreviews.wordpress.com *

Honest Reviews for Readers and Writers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 14,349 other followers

%d bloggers like this: