Encore by Shira Anthony

EncoreLGTitle: Encore
Series: Blue Notes #5
Author: Shira Anthony
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Length: Novel (296 pages)
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (November 11th 2013)
Heat Level: Moderate
Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥3.5Hearts
Blurb: Cool kid violinist Roger Nelson doesn’t give a damn about anything. Wannabe conductor John Fuchs is awkward, effeminate, and just figuring out he’s gay. Despite their differences, they become friends—then lovers—and after college, they try to make it work. But it’s the 1970s, and Roger can’t bring himself to admit he’s gay. Worse, after his brother is killed in Vietnam, Roger tries to live up to his memory and be the perfect son. Then after suffering one tragedy too many, he makes the biggest mistake of his life: Roger pushes John away.

Through the years, they dance around the truth and in and out of each other’s lives, never quite able to let go. Twenty years later, Roger still carries the pain of losing his dream of a brilliant career with him, while John is a superstar conductor with a wild reputation. John’s off-stage antics get him plenty of attention, good and bad, though deep down, he wants only Roger. Finally determined to hold on to what really matters, Roger asks John for another chance, and when John panics and runs, Roger has to convince him to listen to his heart.

Note: The Blue Notes Series can be read in any order. Each is a stand-alone story from the same classical music universe.
Product Link: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=4353&cPath=55_484
Reviewer: Tams
Review: Roger Nelson and John Fuchs become fast friends in high school, bonding over their shared love of music. Roger is an accomplished violinist and John can make a piano sing, he aspires to become a conductor when he graduates. Best friends exploring their feelings for one another quickly become lovers, and then roommates in college. They both hide their sexuality from their families knowing for certain they’ll be disowned, and they need the assistance in order to stay in college.

John’s dad is openly homophobic and Roger’s mother is a world-class bitch, who never approves of his friendship with John. A stupid mistake lands Roger in the hospital and the consequence shatters his future as a violinist. John finishes college and graduates while Roger is forced back home with his parents. Over the next couple of years, they manage to maintain some resemblance of a relationship much to Roger’s mothers chagrin. But Roger finally getting out from under her thumb doesn’t solve their problems, his issues go much deeper. Miserable and unable to communicate the cause of his turmoil with John, he leaves instead.

Over the years, they manage to stay in touch and their friendship weathers all storms. Roger’s dad dies, he marries and divorces and finally admits not just to himself but also to his horrid mother that he is gay. John dives head first into his career and an endless string of one-night stands, only interrupted by a long-term relationship with another old friend that ends tragically. John mourns and then falls back into old habits, picking at that string. When Roger finally opens up to John about why he left him all those years ago and admits not only does he still love him, but also he never stopped. It’s John’s turn to duck and run.

This story spans over thirty-five years in the life of these two lovers. The descriptive are very detailed from the characters to the music, even the date markers that chronicle true-life events as well as the ones happening within the world of Blue Notes. There is never any question of a lack of passion or love between these two, communication or a lack there of is their main issue. I think my favorite part was the last chapter when Roger and John are at David’s villa. The shenanigans that ensue had me laughing out loud.

If you’re a fan of coming of age stories that grow with the characters, come full circle and provide a HEA then this is the book for you.

*I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review for MM Good Book Reviews*
http://mmgoodbookreviews.wordpress.com

Tasting the Forbidden by Lynn Hagen

22130661Title: Tasting the Forbidden
Series: Breed Assassins, Book 1
Author: Lynn Hagen
Genre: Futuristic/Paranormal/Science Fiction/Vampires/Werewolves
Length: Novella (104 Pages)
ISBN: 978-1-63258-031-3
Publisher: Siren Publishing (July 14, 2014)
Heat Level: Moderate
Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥5Hearts
Reviewer: Lisa

Blurb: On the planet Talus, five boys were trained to be the ultimate killing machines for the Constantine Empire. They grew up learning how to execute a man a hundred different ways. They are the Empire’s secret weapon against the Marauders.

Kayden Caellen and his unit have been assigned to hunt down the worst of the worst. The Zarino Galaxy is on the verge of the largest peace treaty the universe has ever seen and doesn’t want anyone upsetting the delicate balance.

Jade Krovac is human, deemed the lowest species in the galaxy. It amazes most that he holds a position as a tech. When the admiral assigns Jade to Kayden’s unit, Kayden knows he is in trouble. Since first laying eyes on Jade, Kayden has been in lust.

Too bad he will be killed if anyone finds out, because for Kayden, being gay is a crime, punishable by death.

Purchase Link: http://www.bookstrand.com/tasting-the-forbidden

Review: This is book one in this brand new series and they should be read in order. It keeps you from getting lost and gives you an insight into their amazing world. A world that will draw you in and keep you wishing for more. Lynn has been one of my favorite authors from her very first book that she had published. She has given me yet another favorite series. I loved it and I know for a fact that it will be read many times over.

On the planet Talus, five young children were learning to be the ultimate killing machines for the Constantine Empire. But, what no one knew was that they had been kidnapped from their families. What they had not known was they were brothers in more than one way. Well except Dax, he had been a servant’s child. However, he was more of a brother than that.

They were also wolf shifters but not belonging to the planet that they had thought. They had been given orders to go after Ben for kidnapping. What they had not known was Ben was not only being wrongly accused but he was in fact their uncle. An uncle that was ruthless and slightly crazy. However, he had the best intentions of ending the empires evil ways.

Where Kayden thought he was from, there was a law that would sentence them to death if they slept with the same-sex. However, it didn’t stop him from wanting Jade. Jade was human and humans were considered very low on the totem pole. They were used and abused from a before anyone could remember. Jade had wanted Kayden since they were children although Kayden didn’t know he had watched them as they were growing up. Jade also didn’t think Kayden was gay. He was too big and strong to be, but man was he wrong. Kayden wanted Jade just as much. Although there is a great big surprise, human males could in fact get pregnant. It just took more than sex to do it. On a night that neither could forget, Jade had gotten pregnant. He was in fact Kayden’s mate. And as you know wolves mate for life.

So here, Kayden had a pregnant mate, a family he didn’t know existed, and everyone was coming for them. All breed assassins were to be put to death. They had a war that was coming up on them and more people to fight for them then they thought. Kayden was being supported in more ways than he knew. I loved this book and cannot wait to read book two.

It gives you sexy men, wolf shifters, lots of excitement, quirky mates, hot sex, and dangerous situations. The book has all that and so much more. I would recommend reading it because you will love the story just as much as I do.

After the Frost by P.G. Owyns

bfbd5-10510129_10202744680393076_320722059_nTitle: After the Frost

Author: P.G. Owyns

Genre: Historical (1928)

Length: Novel (240pgs)

ISBN: B00KSPNVHG

Publisher: Musvit Books (4th June 2014)

Heat Level: Low

Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥ 4 Hearts

Reviewer: Pixie

Blurb: In the Pacific Northwest of 1928, Julian Powell lives a life that for most appears to be one of privilege—a perfect life in a huge house, servants, and carefully groomed grounds. No matter how idyllic it might seem, it has become a prison for Julian. His days are filled with the endless monotony of family gatherings, gossip, and brown suits. Overshadowing him is a life-long illness. Julian finds his only freedom from his overbearing family in secretly writing books celebrating the beauty of nature. Occasionally he escapes to the local bookstore, with the hope of seeing the town’s eccentric, William Neill. Julian’s life changes forever when he makes the boldest decision of his life. He leaves to take care of an ailing childhood friend, moving to a place that will take him away from all he has ever known to an unexpected new life. He becomes part of a family of his own choosing, and it brings him closer to the man that he’s been secretly falling for—a man who has a prison of his own to escape. As William and Julian struggle to overcome their pasts, will their secrets bring them together or drive them apart?

Purchase Link: US: http://www.amazon.com/After-Frost-PG-Owyns-ebook/dp/B00KSPNVHG

UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/After-Frost-PG-Owyns-ebook/dp/B00KSPNVHG

Review: Julian has lived a restricted life under the thumb of his aunt, he has his secret writing that helps him get through the days but when he discovers that because of his lifelong illness he has maybe a year to live he throws off the shackles and begins to live the life that makes him happy. William has suffered horrors in the past and the one thing that helped him through that time was an author’s writing that helped him to remember the beauty in the world. When William meets Julian he has hopes of getting to know the other man but it isn’t until Julian takes control of his own life that they get to know each other.

This is a wonderful story of two men finding love in difficult times and accepting that they might not have long together but they will be happy and in love. Julian is a lovely young man, whose life has been filled with illness, refusing to give up on life he writes under the name of D.S. Remington and is a well-known author. When Julian discovers that a childhood friend is ill and Julian’s own doctor gives him the prognosis on his own illness he throws off his aunts shackles and decides to do what he wants. Helping his ill friend brings him into contact with a man he has admired from afar, and it isn’t long before he discovers the admiration is mutual. William saw horrors during the war and they still affect him, reading D.S. Remington’s books have helped to remind him of the good things in life. Together they rescue each other.

I really did enjoy this story and loved both Julian and William, Julian secretly fought against his aunts restrictions to have a little happiness in his life but when he finally stands on his own he really begins to live and living has him accepting his own nature and exploring love, it’s amazing to see how he embraces his life. William and Julian are amazing friends to Mark as he suffers through his illness and depression, Mark’s father Geoff is an absolute gem especially for the era. There’s some violence and danger but it’s nicely written. This story never loses your interest, it’s a remarkable story that has wonderful characters that you become invested in and it brings to life a little snippet of small town life.

I recommend this to those who love historical’s set in small towns, men finding love and embracing it, a beautifully written love story and a wonderful ending.  

Taking Another Man’s Mate by Marcy Jacks

www.bookstrand.comTitle: Taking Another Man’s Mate
Series: Of Dragons and Wolves, Book 4
Author: Marcy Jacks
Genre: Paranormal/ Dragons/ Werewolves/ Shape-shifters
Length: Novella (118 Pages)
ISBN: 978-1-63258-020-7
Publisher: Siren Publishing (July 5, 2014)
Heat Level: Low to Moderate
Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥5Hearts
Reviewer: Lisa

Blurb: Beta werewolf Quin Abbot knew it was his turn to go up the mountain and mate with the second in command of the dragon clan. A deal had been struck for peace, and he had to keep it. He never thought he would feel an instant attraction to a man who was chosen for him, and he’s pleased. His future husband is his true mate, and he couldn’t be any happier.

But then he discovers the man he’s standing in front of him is not his future husband at all. Lennox Barrach is a dragon warrior, and he has no right to claim Quin as his own, despite how his body screams for the wolf.

Lennox won’t stand for it. Though it tests his friendships with his leader and the second in command, he will risk an all-out war between the pack and the clan to take what’s his. All he has to do is convince Quin to say yes.

Purchase Link: http://www.bookstrand.com/taking-another-mans-mate

Review: This was an amazing story. Each book in Of Dragons and Wolves Series focuses on a different romantic couple. To enjoy the overall story arc and crossover characters, we recommend reading the series in sequential order. It keeps me from getting a bit lost in the stories and gives me an insight in to their world. A world that captured my attention from the start and kept it all the way to the end. I love the way each character just mixes with the others. How fast they are to defend what is theirs and what they believe. What is more fun with these books is the fact that the dragon’s mates can end up pregnant. That gives me a great kick.

In part of the peace agreement, the wolves would mate with the dragons. Quin was the next to the youngest and was given to Roman to mate. He was actually looking forward to it. But when he arrived to where they were, he was shocked. He has found his mate, a mate that seemed to want him back. He was so happy that his future husband was his mate. The only problem was that the man in front of him was in fact not Roman, but Lennox.

Lennox saw his little mate and wanted him right off the bat. He would not give him up. He knew it was going against the peace agreement and against his alpha but he would not give up his mate. He knew it would go against all of their rules, and might start a war but he could not have his mate be with someone else. It did help that Roman didn’t want to mate with Quin. Roman was in fact in love with Kendrick.

This amazing book just pulled me in and kept my attention all the way throughout the book. I can’t wait to get my hands on the next book. This story will give you sexy men, wolf shifters, dragon shifters, hunters, excitement, pregnant mates, and dangerous situations. I would recommend reading this story because you won’t be able to stop once you start reading them.

Armed & Dangerous by Abigail Roux ~ Audiobook

ArmedDangerousAudLGTitle: Armed & Dangerous
Author: Abigail Roux
Series: Cut & Run Series Book 5 – Sequel to Divide & Conquer
Genre: Mystery/Suspense
Length: 9 hours 38 minutes

Narrator:  Sean Crisden
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (June 4th, 2013)
Heat Level: Explicit
Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥ 5Hearts
Reviewer: Tams
Blurb: Left alone in Baltimore after his unpredictable lover bails, Special Agent Zane Garrett takes his frustration out on everything in his path until he is ordered to Chicago to back up an undercover operative. When he gets there, though, he finds himself face to face with his wayward partner, Special Agent Ty Grady. They have to deal with the uncertainty lingering between them while they work to retrieve their intended mark, a retired hit man and CIA wet-works operative named Julian Cross.

Ty, once a Marine and now a FBI hotshot, has a penchant for being unpredictable, a trait Zane can vouch for. Zane is a man who once lived for his job but has come to realize his heartbreaking past doesn’t have to overshadow his future. They’re partners, friends, lovers, and the go-to team for unusual cases. With Cross and his innocuous boyfriend, Cameron Jacobs, in tow, Ty and Zane must navigate the obstacles of a cross-country trek, including TSA pat-downs, blizzards, their uncooperative prisoners, CIA kill teams, a desperate lack of sleep and caffeine, and each other. Ty and Zane are determined to get Julian Cross to DC in one piece, but it’s starting to look like it might be the last thing they do.

Purchase Link: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=3866

Review: When we last visited with Ty and Zane, things were looking pretty bleak. Zane finally told Ty how he really felt about him and they shared a passionate night. Only for Zane to wake and find Ty gone, and a ‘Dear John’ letter left on the pillow. Lord, help the Baltimore FBI field office, because Zane Garrett is P.I.S.T. and now he’s being sent off to parts unknown on an assignment. Image his surprise, and mine I might add, when he shows up and finds out he’s Ty’s backup.

Zane wastes no time making up for lost time and proceeds to make mad passionate love to Ty almost before they even make it in to their hotel room. And thank god for that, because they are about to embark on a cross-country trek with an obnoxious FBI informant slash part-time hit man and his boyfriend. Zane and Ty will do anything to protect their cargo and keep them alive. All the while, those other letters of the alphabet will do anything to make sure that said cargo doesn’t make it to FBI headquarters alive. It is a comedy of errors that had me side-splitting laughing throughout.

Julian Cross, retired hit man, does anything and everything to try to escape. He wrecks the car, twice, uses his belt and the inside of a toilet paper holder to try to pick the handcuffs, puts condoms in the gas tank, it’s hysterical. He and Ty have a mutual dislike from the start, the more he tries to get away, the madder Ty gets. And the madder Ty gets the more Julian instigates trouble. But somewhere along the way and in between car trouble, the two earn a mutual respect for each other, and the four men begin working together instead of at odds. Now they are truly dangerous.

Okay, I have to take a minute to talk about chapter 12. When the four men become allies and start working together, Zane gets really frustrated with Ty and let’s his guard down. He admits his feelings and sort of outs them to the criminals. What ensues is the sexiest, most erotic sex scene I have EVER read, in my life. Forty-Five minutes of Ty fucking Zane insane, those are Zane’s words not mine, and it was so fantastic, I listened to it about a dozen times. Every detail, moan, groan and thrust was described in great detail. It was a thing of beauty.

Now where was I, oh yes. Ty and Zane take their relationship to an entirely new level in this book. They trust each other implicitly and love each other completely but they still have a skoch of an issue with who’s in charge, outside of the bedroom. If they make it out of this operation alive, their crazy antics while on assignment coupled with their issues with authority might just cost them their jobs. And if that doesn’t their decision to come out damn sure will.

This was the best book in the series to date. Everything came full circle. Ty and Zane are finally comfortable in their relationship, both personal and professional. The issue at hand now is what will happen to their jobs if they come out as a couple. Sean Crisden is back narrating and he does such a good job nailing these characters, their nuances and their moods that I don’t think anyone could do better.

Must read series people, must read!

** I received a copy of this audio book from Dreamspinner Press in exchange for an honest review through MM Good Book Reviews **
http://www.mmgoodbookreviews.wordpress.com

After The Frost by P.G. Owyns Free Ebook 23rd July Only!

P.G. Owyns - After the frost

Free Ebook July 23rd

After The Frost

by

P.G. Owyns

In the Pacific Northwest of 1928, Julian Powell lives a life that for most appears to be one of privilege—a perfect life in a huge house, servants, and carefully groomed grounds. No matter how idyllic it might seem, it has become a prison for Julian. His days are filled with the endless monotony of family gatherings, gossip, and brown suits. Overshadowing him is a life-long illness. Julian finds his only freedom from his overbearing family in secretly writing books celebrating the beauty of nature. Occasionally he escapes to the local bookstore, with the hope of seeing the town’s eccentric, William Neill. Julian’s life changes forever when he makes the boldest decision of his life. He leaves to take care of an ailing childhood friend, moving to a place that will take him away from all he has ever known to an unexpected new life. He becomes part of a family of his own choosing, and it brings him closer to the man that he’s been secretly falling for—a man who has a prison of his own to escape. As William and Julian struggle to overcome their pasts, will their secrets bring them together or drive them apart?

Continue reading

Understanding Jeremy by A.M. Arthur

UnderstandingJeremyLGTitle: Understanding Jeremy
Series: Discovering Me #2
Author: A.M. Arthur
Genre: Contemporary
Length: Novella (138 pages)
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (July 23rd, 2014)
Heat Level: Moderate
Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥5Hearts
Reviewer: Tams

No one in Jeremy Collins’s life ever stays. His parents, sister, and wife are all dead. Now he has taken Cole Alston into his home to help him recover from years of abuse at the hands of his ex. Jeremy hopes Cole, who he loves, will stick around, but after eight years of Cole not being allowed to make his own choices, Jeremy doesn’t think he has the right to ask. As Jeremy keeps his concerns and desires to himself, his best friend Bethann calls on him for a huge favor–claim he’s the father of her baby so she isn’t ostracized in their small town for sleeping with a married man. However doing so would be tantamount to denying his relationship with Cole. Rumors fly before Jeremy can explain to Cole that he said no, and suddenly the whole town is in his business. Rather than reassure Cole, Jeremy’s explanations have the opposite effect. Something is going on in Cole’s mind that Jeremy doesn’t know about, and in order to get Cole to talk, Jeremy will need to confront his own deepest fear.
Product Link: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=5246
Review: This is the second book in a series that should be read in order.

Cole Alston finally got his parents house, barn cleaned out, and most of the items sold with the help of his new friend and lover, Jeremy Collins. The two have settled into a routine and as much normalcy as possible, given Cole’s PTSD like symptoms and recurring nightmares after suffering years of abuse at the hands if his ex-asshole. Jeremy’s words, not mine. Martin is long gone, but not forgotten. And to be honest, the scars that he left on Cole both physically and emotionally, may never completely heal.

Jeremy and Cole are trying to settle into a relationship that they aren’t open about while dealing with Cole’s demons, and now they are having to deal with nosey neighbors and rumors on top of their already full plates. You know how small towns are. Jeremy’s best friend is pregnant, and when people assume it’s Jeremy’s, she doesn’t correct them. People in town are whispering about the ‘queer city boy’ that is rooming with Jeremy. More than anything, Jeremy wants to be open and honest about everything. But he understands how secretive and still fragile Cole is, so he respects that and keeps mum about their relationship. And as much as he wants to tell all the Chatty Cathys that it’s not even his baby, he doesn’t want to damage his friends reputation either. So he sits, and simmers, until he’s faced with the very real possibility of losing the person he’s come to love, because Jeremy can’t face his own demons.

There was a reality to this story that hit close to home for me. As someone who lived in an abusive relationship for years, I see a lot of myself in Cole. It’s admirable to me when an author does their research and nails those subtle nuances, things that make you cringe like the breaking glass, things that cause nightmares. All the symptoms Cole suffers are a very real thing and they are portrayed accurately, and that is refreshing, even though difficult to read, I liked the effort Arthur put into this story in that aspect. But then there is the gentle, kind, loving Jeremy who will do anything to make sure Cole feels safe, loved, wanted, and needed. How the two of them balance each other out. And the letter on the computer, that was just pure genius, I loved it!

So, yes, there are some hard parts to this story but it’s also a story about love and being yourself regardless of how crazy that may be. Jeremy even tells Cole, “I already know you’re crazy, and I still love you.” and that was the best damn line I’ve read in a long time. Everyone has baggage, and everyone has an equal out that to help them carry it. This is an also a sweet, sexy love story with a few speed bumps that had to be navigated along the way. Definitely a must read.

The Companion by Lloyd A. Meeker

Companion[The]LGTitle: The Companion
Series: N/A
Author: Lloyd A. Meeker
Genre: Mystery, Suspense
Length: Novel (220 Pages)
ISBN: 978-1-62798-850-6
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (July 23rd, 2014)
Heat Level: Moderate
Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥5Hearts
Reviewer: Lisa

Blurb: Shepherd Bucknam hasn’t had a lover in more than a decade and doesn’t need one. As a Daka, he coaches men in the sacred art and mystery of sexual ecstasy all the time, and he loves his work. It’s his calling. In fact, he’s perfectly content—except for the terrors of his recurring nightmare and the ominous blood-red birthmarks on his neck. He’s convinced that together they foretell his early and violent death.

When Shepherd’s young protégé is murdered, LAPD Detective Marco Fidanza gets the case. The two men are worlds apart: Marco has fought hard for everything he’s accomplished, in sharp contrast to the apparent ease of Shepherd’s inherited wealth—but their mutual attraction is too hot for either of them to ignore.

Shepherd swears he’ll help find his protégé’s killer, but Marco warns him to stay out of it. When an influential politician is implicated, the police investigation grinds to a halt. Shepherd hires his own investigator. Marco calls it dangerous meddling. As their volatile relationship deepens, Shepherd discovers his nightmares might not relate to the future, but to the deadly legacy of a past life—a life he may have to revisit before he can fully live and love in this one.
Purchase Link: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=5244
Review: This story was different from ones that I have read before. At first, I had my misgivings about it, but I continued to read it. It was as if I couldn’t stop reading Shepherd’s story. I was confused throughout most of the story but once I read the ending, I realized that I understood it perfectly. It was full of anger, pain, angst, and such a tender love story.

Throughout most of his life, Shepherd had been having this nightmare over and over. It was one of him being attacked by men. Violently beaten to death, and he just got the feeling that it was going to happen in the beginning. When his protégé was murdered, it tore him up. He had never been able to look at something so hard without getting sick. Stef’s murder brought in LAPD Detective Marco Fidanze.
Marco was a very hard but honest detective. He pushed Shepherd for answers until the poor guy was ill. He didn’t know what to actually do about it. He was strangely attracted to Shepherd. Things progress pretty good, but he had to get Shepherd to stop trying to find out who murdered Stef. It was the one thing that would end their relationship, before it truly started. He was in love with this sexy man who had more mystery surrounding him.

Shepherd had been seeing a therapist for a while now about his violent sickness to any type of violence. He was also seeing someone who could help figure out his past. To see if he could get more answers. That is until a little old lady tells him that it was a past life that was messing him up in the future. The dream he had been from a past life that he had to overcome before he could go forward. Since he couldn’t let Stef’s murder go, he knew he would lose the one man he truly loved. He just didn’t know how to stop it.

When what Shepherd was doing almost cost him his life, Marco realized that he was also living by a past fear. A fear of letting down those he loves and abandoning them when they needed him the most. He would do everything he could to save his lover.

This story made me fear so much that I wasn’t sure I could continue reading it. It will have you angry with Marco, sad for Shepherd and wanting to kick both of their asses. I thought that Marco was a hard nose detective that I was hoping he wasn’t the one for Shepherd. It seemed he just ridiculed Shepherd though most of the story, but once I reached the end I realized that he was afraid also. He was from a family of police that if one gets kicked off the force for some reason they were kicked out of the family. He thought that what Shepherd was doing would get him kicked off the force and then kicked out of the family. However, in the end when Shepherd was so close to death, he realized that Shepherd was also his family.

It turned out that I enjoyed the story more than I thought possible. I will definitely be checking out the rest of Lloyd’s stories. It was an amazing story that will drag you in and will keep your attention throughout the whole story. It gives you a sexy police officer, a gorgeous young man who loves more than he thinks, excitement, a bit of paranormal theme to it and dangerous situations. I loved this book and would recommend reading it.

Second Helpings By Charlie Cochrane Blog Tour, Review & Giveaway!

Charlie Cochrane - Second Helpings_TourBanner

Hi guys, we are joined today by Riptide Publishing’s Charlie Cochrane with her newest release Second Helpings, there’s some great giveaways and we have Tams review. So enjoy and click that Rafflecopter link and leave a comment for a chance to win ;-) <3 ~Pixie~

Old kitchen table rural cottage morning

Second Helpings

by

Charlie Cochrane

Stuart Collins’s life might as well have ended a year ago when his partner died in a car crash. Even Stuart’s widowed father has found new love with an old friend, Isabel Franklin, so why can’t Stuart be bothered to try?

Then he gets a phone call from Isabel’s son, Paul, who wants to check out whether or not Mr. Collins is good enough for his mother. During dinner together, though, they end up checking out each other. Trouble is, Paul’s got a boyfriend—or maybe he doesn’t, since the boyfriend’s supposedly giving Paul the push by ignoring him. Or maybe Paul just wants to have his cake and eat it too.

Honesty with each other is the only way to move forward. But maybe honesty with themselves is what they really need.

 http://riptidepublishing.com/titles/second-helpings

Continue reading

Take by Ella Frank

91t8cHQ4flL._SL1500_Title: Take
Series: Temptation, #2
Author: Ella Frank
Genre: Contemporary
Length: Novel (265 Pages)
Publisher: Ella Frank (July 7th, 2014)
Heat Level: Moderate to Explicit
Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥5 Hearts
Blurb: Logan Mitchell is a man who’s always been more than happy to take what he wants. It’s a philosophy that’s proven lucrative in both his business and personal life, and never was it more apparent than the night he laid eyes on Tate Morrison. After pulling out all the stops and convincing the sexy bartender to give him a try—he’s hooked.

Now, Logan finds himself in a predicament that demands more from him than a smart-ass answer and his innate ability to walk away when things get too deep.

He has a choice to make, and it’ll force him to do something he’s never done before—take a chance.

Tate Morrison knows all about taking a chance. He took the biggest one of his life the night he showed up at Logan’s apartment to explore his unexpected reaction to the man.

Ever since then, he’s thought about little else.

At first, he was convinced his attraction was based solely on his body’s curiosity. But the more time he spends with the silver-tongued lawyer, the more Tate realizes that their physical chemistry is only the beginning.

He’s starting to catch a glimpse of what life with Logan would be like, and it’s one full of excitement and satisfaction—a far cry from what he had in the past with his soon to be ex-wife.

Each man will face their fears as they begin to understand the true meaning of give and take. Their feelings for one another will be tested, as will their very beliefs. But now that they’ve found love where they least expected it, will they be brave enough to reach out and take it?

Product Link: http://www.amazon.com/Take-Temptation-Series-Book-2-ebook/dp/B00LLWDUDK

Reviewer: Tootsie

Review: Ella Frank certainly knows how to get our attention. From the moment she gave us Tate and Logan in TRY, we have become obsessed with needing more. They have become a permanent fixture in the lives of many all over the world. They have become real people, an amazing couple that we, the readers, need to know more about. We need to know if they are going to make it as a couple, stick together through life’s daily struggles. We all want the same thing as we cross our fingers and hold our breath and proceed to drown in TAKE.

The months leading up to this newest release have only given us more time to read and re-read, discuss and debate, everything Tate and Logan. I’m sure everyone is familiar with movies or a TV show where it doesn’t matter how many times you watch it, how many re-runs you have recorded, it only gets better each time. You find more and more details you missed the first few times around. That is TRY and TAKE, they are the movies we love so much, the re-runs that only get better each time. Tate and Logan are a part of us. They are embedded in our hearts and minds. We will stand by them, laugh with them, hold our breaths for them, and jump up and down (sometimes in elation, sometimes in fury) as they figure out their journey and where it all leads.

When we closed the pages on TRY, Tate and Logan, were trying this relationship thing out. Tate had been married, of course, and we know how that worked out, but Logan has never really had a relationship. One that he discussed openly anyhow. He had someone close in college but it was only an illusion. It was one-sided and I think it is safe to say that it damaged Logan, badly. He has never faced it head-on, nor has he ever discussed it with anyone, until Tate. That is all I’m going to say on that because I don’t want to leave a spoiler accidentally and you will learn more about those earlier years as you read TAKE.

Tate and Logan want to try, they each are surprised just how quickly an attachment has formed, this bond that they both seem to have for the other. They realize their feelings are getting stronger, possibly even leaning towards the “L” word but, for right now, they don’t want to think about it. They want to live in the moment, enjoy each other, go on dates and be a real couple. Dates are another new experience for Logan, one that he is having a little trouble grasping. Tate is going to hold him accountable, however, and they may just see that date night will be something they thoroughly enjoy. Going out as a couple, seen together in public, may seem like another stumbling block. Tate needs to tell his family first before they take on the public, and people realize what it means.

Tate wants to confront his family, tell them about Logan, and what he means to him. He wants so desperately for his family to meet his boyfriend and most of all accept him, like him, and overall, just is happy for them. It’s not going to be that easy seeing as how Tate’s family is still under his ex-wife’s spell. It certainly doesn’t help that the ex is best friends with Tate’s sister and she seems to get the jump on everything first before Tate can even explain. Logan goes to game night with his family, something he didn’t even know existed until recently, and he takes Tate along. Surprisingly, they both have a great time, Tate is accepted with open arms, which surprises him somewhat but he will take it.

The green-eyed monster shows up with Logan, which kind of knocks him back a bit because he wasn’t aware that he was jealous over Tate. It’s a pretty funny evening, a lot of laughs, usually at the expense of someone else, a lot of talk and just plain fun. Connections are formed and Tate is thrilled with the outcome. Now, he is hoping with everything he has that his family will be the same experience for Logan. Unfortunately, it is not going to be a cut and dry situation. Insults will be thrown, accusations will be made, tempers will flair and the most hurtful moment will be when Tate alienates himself against Logan. Will they be able to work through this set back, together, or will it push them further apart?

They each have doubts, they each have concerns, but one thing they have never questioned is the chemistry they have together. It is like a magnetic field that has attached itself to them guaranteeing if they are in eyesight of each other, they need to touch, kiss, even snuggling and cuddling is something they need, surprising both of them. Their sex life is explosive, they thrive off the other, and they are never closer than when they are joined in bed. Regardless if giving or receiving, they are incredible together. Their pull is so strong, that when they break apart, you will feel it as well.

At that moment, you will realize you have been holding your breath for several seconds because you are now gasping to get in some air the same as Logan and Tate are gasping to come back down from the euphoria that, for a moment in time, had every single one of us in its clutches. As they struggle with this new development of Tate’s family, will Logan ever fully put his trust in Tate and tell him all of his deep, dark secrets? Will Tate stick it out with Logan, for better or worse, and walk away from his family? You will get your answers as you read TAKE, but as you get some answers here, you will realize you have a few more questions that need answered as well.

TAKE is everything I could have hoped for and more. Ella Frank took Tate and Logan so much further in their journey, giving us an inside seat to watch as they figure out what is best for them. We see them both grow as characters, as adults, and as partners in a relationship. While there is some angst they experience, they understand and you as the reader will understand, that even though some of these problems come flying in from left field, they will only continue to be stronger not only as a couple but as a person. The story is mostly centered on Tate and Logan, which is fine by me, but there will be moments when you get a more in-depth look at friends and family, some you will hate and some you will love for the strength and support they offer freely. I’m sure there may be a few people, not many, I wouldn’t think, that has not had the time yet to read this series.

However, if you are out there and have not succumbed to the Logan and Tate merry-go-round, I can only ask “Why the heck not?” Go, run, don’t even worry about passing go and collecting $200, just hit one-click, it’s very simple and easy and you will be so glad you did not wait another minute. It is that good!!! Thank you Ella for another amazing edition to the Temptation Series and I know I am surrounded by hundreds of others who are more than thrilled there will be another book before we see the end to the stunning, captivating, mind-melting force that is Logan and Tate. It may be the last book, coming up, but they will never be out of our hearts or minds.